2019 Officers Elected

NAIC Elects 2019 Officers

Elections included zone officers

SAN FRANCISCO (Nov. 18, 2018) — Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) elected the following 2019 officers today during its Fall National Meeting:

President: Maine Insurance Superintendent Eric A. Cioppa

President-Elect: South Carolina Insurance Director Raymond G. Farmer

Vice President: Hawaii Insurance Commissioner Gordon I. Ito

Secretary-Treasurer: Idaho Insurance Director Dean L. Cameron

The newly elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2019.

Eric A. Cioppa was confirmed as superintendent of the Maine Bureau of Insurance in September 2011.

Raymond G. Farmer was appointed by Gov. Nikki Haley to serve as director for the South Carolina Department of Insurance effective Nov. 13, 2012.

Gordon I. Ito was reappointed by Gov. David Y. Ige to serve as commissioner of the Hawaii Insurance Division effective Jan. 1, 2015.

Dean L. Cameron was appointed Director of the Department of Insurance by Idaho Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter. He took office on June 15, 2015.

About the NAIC

As part of our state-based system of insurance regulation in the United States, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) provides expertise, data, and analysis for insurance commissioners to effectively regulate the industry and protect consumers. The U.S. standard-setting organization is governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer reviews, and coordinate regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. For more information, visit

Related Content