NAIC Elects 2021 Officers

NAIC Elects 2021 Officers

WASHINGTON (Dec. 9, 2020) — Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) elected officers for 2021 today during the closing activities of its Fall 2020 National Meeting.

The following officers were elected for 2021:

President: Florida Insurance Commissioner David Altmaier

David Altmaier was appointed Commissioner of the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (OIR) by the Financial Services Commission on April 29, 2016. Altmaier began his public service at OIR in 2008, serving in a number of roles including Chief Analyst of the Property and Casualty Financial Oversight unit and Deputy Commissioner of Property and Casualty Insurance. Altmaier currently serves on the following NAIC Executive Committees: Government Relations Executive Leadership Council (Vice Chair); Internal Administration Executive 1 Subcommittee (Vice Chair); Special Committee on Race and Insurance (Co-Chair); Financial Stability Executive Task Force; Innovation and Technology Executive Task Force; Climate and Resiliency Executive Task Force; Artificial Intelligence Executive Working Group; Long-Term Care Insurance Financial Solvency Executive Subgroup; Long-Term Care Insurance Multistate Rate Review Executive Subgroup; and the Audit Committee. 

President-Elect: Idaho Insurance Director Dean L. Cameron

Dean L. Cameron was appointed Director of the Department of Insurance by Idaho Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter. He took office on June 15, 2015. At the time of his appointment as Director, Cameron was serving his 13th term as senator for District 27 as the most senior member of the Idaho Senate. In addition to his role as Director of Idaho’s Department of Insurance, Cameron currently serves on the following NAIC Executive Committees: Special Executive Committee on Race and Insurance (Co-Vice Chair); Government Relations Executive Leadership Council; Innovation and Technology Executive Task Force; Long-Term Care Insurance Executive Task Force; Speed to Market Executive Working Group; Long-Term Care Insurance Multistate Rate Review Executive Subgroup; Audit Committee; and the Internal Administration Executive 1 Subcommittee. 

Vice President: Missouri Insurance Director Chlora Lindley-Myers

Chlora Lindley-Myers was appointed Director of the Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance on March 6, 2017. She has served in several senior positions in the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of government. In addition to Missouri, she has worked for both the Kentucky Department of Insurance and the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, and for the NAIC. Lindley-Myers is licensed to practice law in various states, including Missouri. She has been awarded the Robert Dineen Award and the Al Greer Award. She currently serves on the following NAIC Executive Committees: Audit Committee (Chair); Special Executive Committee on Race and Insurance (Co-Vice Chair) Financial Stability Executive Task Force; Government Relations Executive Leadership Council; Innovation and Technology Executive Task Force; Long-Term Care Insurance Executive Task Force; Internal Administration Executive 1 Subcommittee; and the Information Systems Executive 1 Task Force.

Secretary-Treasurer: Connecticut Insurance Commissioner Andrew Mais

Andrew Mais was nominated as Connecticut's 33rd Insurance Commissioner by Governor Ned Lamont and began serving on March 4, 2019. Prior to becoming Commissioner Mais was a member of Deloitte’s Center for Financial Services, primarily focused on the insurance sector from a global perspective. Prior to working at Deloitte, Mais was a Director at the New York State Insurance Department (NYSID). He served four governors as part of the NYSID’s Sr. Leadership Team through numerous events including the financial crisis of 2008 and major state and federal changes in health insurance regulations and laws. Before joining the NYSID, he served as director of a Connecticut nonprofit. Mais currently serves on the following NAIC Executive Committees: Climate and Resiliency Executive Task Force; Financial Stability Executive Task Force; Innovation and Technology Executive Task Force; Big Data Executive Working Group; Long-Term Care Insurance Multistate Rate Review Executive Subgroup; and the Special Executive Committee on Race and Insurance. 

The newly elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2021. The election of officers is held annually during the NAIC’s Fall National Meeting.

NAIC members also elected 2021 Zone Officers during the Fall National Meeting.

Northeastern Zone 

  • Commissioner Jessica A. Altman – Chair, Pennsylvania  

  • Commissioner Gary D. Anderson – Vice Chair, Massachusetts 

  • Commissioner Kathleen A. Birrane – Secretary – Treasurer, Maryland 

Southeastern Zone 

  • Commissioner Jim L. Ridling – Chair, Alabama  

  • Commissioner Mike Chaney – Vice Chair, Mississippi 

  • Commissioner James J. Donelon – Secretary – Treasurer, Louisiana 

Midwestern Zone 

  • Director Larry D. Deiter – Chair, South Dakota 

  • Commissioner Glen Mulready – Vice Chair, Oklahoma 

  • Commissioner Doug Ommen – Secretary – Treasurer, Iowa 

Western Zone 

  • Director Lori K. Wing-Heier – Chair, Alaska 

  • Commissioner Michael Conway – Vice Chair, Colorado 

  • Commissioner Andrew R. Stolfi – Secretary–Treasurer, Oregon 


About the NAIC

As part of our state-based system of insurance regulation in the United States, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) provides expertise, data, and analysis for insurance commissioners to effectively regulate the industry and protect consumers. The U.S. standard-setting organization is governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer reviews, and coordinate regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. For more information, visit

Related Content