Skip to main content

Government Affairs

The Government Affairs division coordinates the NAIC’s ongoing work with state, federal, and foreign government officials on legislative and regulatory policy. Its role is to help develop, coordinate, and implement the NAIC’s domestic and international policy and outreach initiatives.

Areas of Emphasis

The Government Affairs division works closely with key domestic and international governmental bodies to ensure coordination on regulatory matters and facilitate effective communication. The staff assists state insurance regulators with implementation of federal law and international standards, briefs Congress, federal agencies, and state government groups on matters relating to state insurance regulation, and works with foreign regulators and multilateral organizations on international activities.

Financial Services Policy

The Financial Services Policy and Legislation Team in the Government Affairs division is the point of contact for the NAIC and state insurance departments with Congress, federal agencies, and state government groups on financial services-related insurance issues.

Health Insurance Policy

The Health Policy and Legislation team is the point of contact on all federal and state legislative and regulatory activities impacting health insurance and on all health insurance model laws and regulations.

International Relations and Policy

The International Relations and Policy team is the point of contact on all policy development, standard-setting and cooperation activities impacting insurance at the international level.

Featured

Commissioner Andrew Mais Addresses OECD-ADBI Roundtable on Insurance and Retirement Savings in Asia

Jun. 29, 2021

Read More

Search Government Affairs

Committees & Working Groups

The Government Affairs division works closely with key federal regulatory bodies to ensure coordination on regulatory matters and facilitate effective communication among federal and state regulators. The staff assists regulators in federal law implementation and brief federal regulators on state insurance regulation.

Contacts

Staff

Chara Bradstreet
Chief of State Relations and Policy Advisor
cbradstreet@naic.org
202-649-4997

Jennifer Cook
Senior Health and Life Policy Counsel
jcook@naic.org
202-471-3986

Mary Laboy
Office Manager, Government Affairs
mlaboy@naic.org
202-471-3972

Jolie Matthews
Senior Health and Life Policy Counsel
jmatthews@naic.org
202-471-3982

Nikhail Nigam
International Relations Policy Advisor
nnigam@naic.org
(202) 471-3992

Mark Sagat
Assistant Director, Financial Services Policy and Legislation
msagat@naic.org
202-471-3987

Ekrem Sarper
Lead Manager, Bilateral Affairs
esarper@naic.org
202-471-3976

Ethan Sonnichsen
Managing Director, Government Relations
esonnichsen@naic.org
202-471-3980

Brooke Stringer
Financial Services Policy and Legislative Advisor
bstringer@naic.org
202-471-3974

Rashmi Sutton
Senior International Relations Policy Counsel
rsutton@naic.org
202-649-4986

Gita Timmerman
Senior International Relations Policy Counsel
gtimmerman@naic.org
202-471-3981

David Torian
Health Policy Analyst and Counsel
dtorian@naic.org
202-471-3979

Joe Touschner
Senior Health Policy Advisor
jtouschner@naic.org
202-649-4989

Ned Tyrrell
Senior International Solvency Policy Advisor
ntyrrell@naic.org
212-386-1986

Brian Webb
Assistant Director, Life and Health Policy and Legislation
bwebb@naic.org
202-471-3978

Ryan Workman
Assistant Director, International Relations and Policy
rworkman@naic.org
816-783-8072

Support

Address

444 North Capitol Street NW Suite 700 Washington, DC 20001 United States
1100 Walnut Street Suite 1500 Kansas City, MO 64106 United States
One New York Plaza Suite 4210 New York, NY 10004 United States

Visit NAIC’s Library & Archives

Can’t find what you are looking for? Search for current and historical information, including the complete digitized collection of NAIC Proceedings.