Kansas



Vicki Schmidt Commissioner Chair, Midwest Zone

Term of Office: Four years

Elected:
November 6, 2018
Re-elected: November 8,
2022

Vicki Schmidt was first elected Kansas Insurance Commissioner on November 6, 2018, and reelected to another four-year term on November 8, 2022. She became the first Kansas pharmacist to serve in that role and is the only pharmacist in America currently holding elected statewide office.

It was her experience as a pharmacist that drew her to run for the Kansas Legislature, where she served for 14 years as a state senator, including 12 years as a member of the Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee and six years as chair of the Public Health and Welfare Committee.

Commissioner Schmidt currently serves as chair of the NAIC Midwest Zone and co-vice chair of the Financial Regulation Standards and Accreditation (F) Committee. She also serves as a member of the Life Insurance and Annuities (A) Committee, International Insurance Relations (G) Committee, and the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) Board of Directors.

Since joining the NAIC, she has chaired the Property and Casualty Insurance (C) Committee, and also served as a member of the Health Insurance and Managed Care (B) Committee, and the Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs (D) Committee. She is a former member of the Management Committee for the Interstate Insurance Compact, and a former member of the NAIC System for Electronic Rates and Forms Filing (SERFF) Advisory Board.

Commissioner Schmidt and her high school sweetheart, Michael Schmidt, MD, have been married for over 45 years. She graduated from KU's School of Pharmacy and has worked more than 40 years as a local pharmacist. They made their home in Topeka, where they raised their two sons. They are also proud grandparents of four.

Main

Kansas Department of Insurance 1300 SW Arrowhead Road Topeka, KS 66604 United States

Email Address kdoi@ks.gov

Phone Numbers

Main: (785) 296-3071 Toll-Free: (800) 432-2484

Commissioner's Office: (785) 291-3299

Fax Numbers

Consumer Assistance: (785) 296-5806

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. CT, Monday-Friday

Website: https://insurance.kansas.gov/

Make Checks Payable to: Insurance Commissioner

Barbara Rankin Assistant Commissioner	(785) 296-2752
Dan Klucas Securities Commissioner	(785) 296-2607
Karen Perez Executive Assistant to Commissioner	(785) 291-3299
Mandy Roe Chief of Staff	(785) 296-7807
Steve Karrer	(785) 296-7847

Contact Persons

General Counsel

Actuarial Services

Nicole Boyd	(785) 296-6253
Chief of Actuarial Services	nicole.boyd@ks.gov

Antifraud Division

John Eichkorn	(785) 296-5203
Director, Compliance, Enforcement & Antifraud	john.eickhorn@ks.gov

Company Admissions

Tish Becker	(785) 296-7816
Admissions Coordinator	tish.becker@ks.gov

Consumer Complaints and Inquiries

Lauren Childers	(785) 296-7827
Director, Consumer Assistance	lauren.childers@ks.gov

Department Counsel

Steve Karrer (785) 296-7847
General Counsel steve.karrer@ks.gov

Deposits

Sarah Smith (785) 296-7819 Financial Surveillance Division sarah.smith@ks.gov

Fees/Premium Tax

Charlotte Daubert (785) 291-3191
Comptroller charlotte.daubert@ks.gov

Financial Examinations

Levi Nwasoria (785) 296-1014 Chief Examiner levi.nwasoria@ks.gov

Financial Surveillance

Tish Becker (785) 296-7816
Director, Financial Surveillance Tish.Becker@ks.gov

Government Affairs & Communication

Kyle Strathman (785) 296-7831
Deputy Chief of Staff kyle.strathman@ks.gov

Government Relations and Public Policy

Eric Turek 785-296-2461
Director of Government & Public Affairs eric.l.turek@ks.gov

Health and Life Insurance - Policy Rule, Rate & Form Filing

Julie Holmes (785) 296-6410
Director, Rate & Form Compliance julie.holmes@ks.gov

Human Resources

Dale Hubbell (785) 296-7802 Director, Administrative Operations and Human dale.hubbell@ks.gov

Information Technology

Nick Bylsma (785) 296-7839 Chief Technology & Information Officer nick.bylsma@ks.gov

InsurTech

Resources

Julie Holmes (785) 296-6410
Director, Rate & Form Compliance julie.holmes@ks.gov

NAIC Liaison

Mandy Roe (785) 296-7807 Chief of Staff mandy.roe@ks.gov

Producer Licensing

Monicka Richmeier (785) 296-5185

Director, Licensing Division monicka.richmeier@ks.gov

Property & Casualty - Annual Statements/Policy Rule, Rate & Form Filing, Commercial Multi-Peril & Casualty Lines

Julie Holmes (785) 296-6410
Director, Rate & Form Compliance julie.holmes@ks.gov

Property & Casualty - Homeowners, Personal and Commercial Lines Auto

Julie Holmes (785) 296-6410
Director, Rate & Form Compliance julie.holmes@ks.gov

Receivership

Steve Karrer (785) 296-7847
General Counsel steve.karrer@ks.gov

Securities

Dan Klucas (785) 296-2607 Securities Commissioner dan.klucas@ks.gov