Kentucky



Sharon P. Clark Commissioner Vice Chair, Southeast Zone

Term of Office:
At the Pleasure of the
Governor
Appointed: January 6,
2020

Sharon P. Clark, a veteran of Kentucky state government, was appointed Commissioner of the Department of Insurance (DOI) on January 6, 2020. She previously served as Commissioner of the DOI from July 2008 to January 2016 and has the longest tenure as Kentucky's Commissioner since the Department was established in May 1870.

Commissioner Clark was the first director of the DOI's Consumer Protection and Education Division, a position she held for five years. Under her leadership, the Department hired its first ombudsman, added consumer education and outreach functions, as well as strengthened enforcement efforts by expanding the number of consumer complaint investigators.

Commissioner Clark served as the chair of the Kentucky Health Benefit Exchange Advisory Board during its inaugural year and continues as a board member. She is a member of the Kentucky Group Health Insurance Board and during her first tenure as Commissioner served as an officer of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and chair of the NAIC's Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs Committee. Clark was also an officer for the NAIC's Southeastern Zone and a past secretary-treasurer for the National Insurance Producer Registry Board.

For 2023 Commissioner Clark is a member of the NAIC Executive (EX) Committee and the Internal Administration (EX1) Subcommittee and serves as vice chair of the Financial Regulation Standards and Accreditation (F) Committee, vice chair of the Producer Licensing (D) Task Force, chair of the Regulatory Framework (B) Task Force, a member of the Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs (D) Committee and serves on various other task force groups. She is also a member of the of the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) Board of Directors.

Prior to being appointed Insurance Commissioner, Clark worked at the Finance and Administration Cabinet. She also held positions for the Kentucky House of Representatives, the Public Service Commission, and the former Workforce Development Cabinet.

She earned bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Kentucky.

Clark and her husband have two daughters and four grandchildren.

Main

Kentucky Department of Insurance P.O. Box 517 Frankfort, KY 40602-0517 United States

Email Address

DOI.ConsumerComplaints@ky.gov

Phone Numbers

Main: (502) 564-3630

Toll-Free Number (In-state only): (800) 595-6053

Commissioner: (502) 564-6026

TTY: (800) 648-6056

Fax Numbers

Administrative Services: (502) 564-1650

Agent Licensing: (502) 564-6030 Commissioner: (502) 564-1453

Consumer Protection: (502) 564-6090

Financial Standards & Examination: (502) 564-4604

Fraud Investigation: (502) 564-1464 Information Technology: (502) 564-1650

Health and Life: (502) 564-2728

Legal: (502) 564-1456

Market Regulation: (502) 564-6090 Media Relations: (502) 564-2669

Property and Casualty: (502) 564-5922

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Website: http://insurance.ky.gov

Make Checks Payable to: Kentucky State Treasurer

Jennifer Chalk	(502) 782-5259
Commissioner's Office	
Sharon P. Clark	(502) 564-6026
Department Liquidator/Commissioner	
Shaun T. Orme	(502) 564-6026
Executive Advisor	
Shawn Boggs	(502) 564-6026
Deputy Commissioner	

Contact Persons

Agent Licensing

Lee Ellen Webb (502) 564-6004
Director, Licensing Division LeeEllen.Webb@ky.gov

Annual Statements

Victoria Lloyd (502) 564-6082 Director, Financial Standards and Examination Victoria.Lloyd@ky.gov

Division

Commissioner's Office

Shaun T. Orme (502) 564-6026 Executive Advisor Shaun.Orme@ky.gov

Jennifer Chalk (502) 782-5259 Commissioner's Office jennifer.chalk@ky.gov

Communications and Public Outreach

Ricki Gardenhire (502) 564-6026
Public Protection Cabinet Information Officer Ricki.Gardenhire@ky.gov

Company Licensing

Victoria Lloyd

Director, Financial Standards and Examination

Victoria.Lloyd@ky.gov

Division

Consumer Complaints and Inquires

Debbie Stamper (502) 564-6034
Director, Consumer Protection and Market Conduct Debbie.Stamper@ky.gov

Department Counsel

Benjamin D. Siegel (502) 782-0604
General Counsel Benjamin.Siegel@ky.gov

Department Liquidator/Rehabilitator

Sharon P. Clark (502) 564-6026

Department Liquidator/Commissioner

Examinations - Financial

Jeff Gaither (502) 564-6082 Chief Financial Examiner, Financial Standards and Jeff.Gaither@ky.gov

Examination Division

Examinations - Market Regulation

Patrick Smith (502) 782-3584
Chief Examiner, Market Conduct Patrick.Smith@ky.gov

Fees - Companies

Dianna May (502) 564-6082 Financial Standards and Examination Division dianna.may@ky.gov

Health and Life Insurance (including policy and form filing)

Angela Raley (502) 564-6088
Acting Director of the Health and Life Division Angela.Raley@ky.gov

Information Technology

Satish Akula (502) 564-6154
Executive Director, Public Protection Cabinet Office Satish.Akula@ky.gov of Information Technology

Insurance Fraud Investigations

Juan Garrett (502) 564-1461

Director, Insurance Fraud Investigation Division Juan.Garrett@ky.gov

InsurTech

Satish Akula (502) 564-6154
Executive Director, Public Protection Cabinet Office Satish.Akula@ky.gov
of Information Technology

Local Government Premium Tax

John Hord (502) 564-6034 Insurance Program Manager John.Hord@ky.gov

NAIC Liaison

Debbie Stamper (502) 564-6034 Director, Consumer Protection and Market Conduct Debbie.Stamper@ky.gov

Property & Casualty Insurance (including policy and form filing)

Sue Hicks (502) 564-6046
Director, Property and Casualty Division SusanH.Hicks@ky.gov