

Glen Mulready Commissioner Chair, Midwest Zone

Term of Office: Four years

Elected: November 6, 2018 Re-elected: November 8, 2022

## Oklahoma

Glen Mulready serves as Oklahoma's 13th insurance commissioner. A former state legislator and longtime insurance professional, he was recently unopposed in his bid for reelection, and will start a second term as insurance commissioner in 2023. Commissioner Mulready was first elected to the state-wide position in 2019.

Commissioner Mulready started his insurance career as a broker in 1984 and later served in executive roles for Oklahoma's two largest health insurance companies. In 2010, Mulready entered public service and was elected to represent West Tulsa, Jenks, and Glenpool in the Oklahoma House of Representatives. During his tenure in the house, Commissioner Mulready became a policy leader on many transformative insurance issues and held several roles, including, Insurance Committee chair and House Majority Floor Leader. In 2011, Governing Magazine named Mulready one of 17 "GOP Legislators to Watch Nationally."

As Commissioner, Mulready has led initiatives to increase the number of health insurance carriers available to Oklahomans, bring more attention to consumer education, and remove burdensome regulation in the department's administrative code. Since 2019, the Oklahoma Insurance Department has recovered over \$20 million for Oklahoma consumers. Commissioner Mulready supports efforts to continue to apply best practices, modernize the department and embrace new technology to serve the people of Oklahoma better.

Commissioner Mulready has also been a leader nationally representing Oklahoma as chairman of the NAIC Midwest Zone and chairman of the Health Insurance and Managed Care (B) Committee. As a firm believer in the free market and a longtime advocate for affordable health care for all Oklahomans, Commissioner Mulready believes creating more choices for consumers will help reduce the number of uninsured Oklahomans and improve affordability in the insurance market. When he was first elected, only two plan options were available in the Oklahoma Health Insurance Marketplace. Currently, seven insurers are now offering products to Oklahoma consumers.

Moreover, Commissioner Mulready sponsored the original Insurance Business Transfer (IBT) Act, now law and is recognized as one of the most innovative insurance regulations in the country. Since 2020, the first two IBT transactions in United States history were completed in Oklahoma. In addition, Oklahoma is also focused on recruiting Captive Insurance domiciles. Over one-third of currently licensed captives came to Oklahoma during Commissioner Mulready's first two years in office.

Commissioner Mulready and Sally, his wife of 34 years, are the proud parents of three college-aged sons: Sam, Jake, and Will. Commissioner Mulready is very active in the community, having served on numerous boards and committees, including Big Brothers Big Sisters, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Fund, March of Dimes, Shepherds Fold Ranch Christian Summer Camp, Crime Commission and Tulsa Tough. Commissioner Mulready and his wife were the recipients of Leadership Tulsa's Paragon Award for their work with Big Brothers Big Sisters in 2018.

### Main

**Oklahoma Insurance Department** 400 NE 50th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73105 United States

#### **Email Address**

firstname.lastname@oid.ok.gov

#### **Phone Numbers**

Main (Oklahoma City): (405) 521-2828 Toll-Free Number (In-State Only): (800) 522-0071 Main (Tulsa): (918) 295-3700

#### **Fax Numbers**

Main (Oklahoma City): (405) 521-6635 Main (Tulsa): (918) 994-7916

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday Website: https://www.ok.gov/oid/ Make Checks Payable to: Oklahoma Insurance Department

Andy Schallhorn (405) 522-4969 Deputy Commissioner of Financial Regulations and Chief Actuary Ashley Scott (405) 521-6616 **Director of PBM Licensing** 

Ashley Scott Government and Community Affairs Director

(405) 521-6616

Brian Downs Chief of Staff; First Deputy Commissioner	(405) 521-6654
Carrie Kerns Executive Assistant to the Commissioner	(405) 522-0891
Denise Figueroa Chief Technology Officer	(405) 522-4616
Donna Dorr Director of Consumer Assistance	(405) 521-4524
Erin Wainner Deputy Commissioner of Licensing Services	(405) 522-0897
Kim Hunter General Counsel	(405) 522-6335
Kurt Cagle Director of Rate and Form	(405) 522-3447
Liz Heigle Chief Communications Officer	(405) 522-0683
Mike Rhoads Deputy Commissioner of Consumer Services	(918) 295-3702
Ray Walker Medicare Assistance Program Director	(405) 521-6632
Sherry Marczewski Comptroller	(405) 522-4581
Contact Persons	
Actuarial	
Andy Schallhorn	(405) 522-4969

Andy Schallhorn	(405) 522-4969
Deputy Commissioner of Financial Regulations and	andrew.schallhorn@oid.ok.gov
Chief Actuary	

# Anti-Fraud Unit Rick Wagnon

Chief Investigator

(405) 522-6180 rick.wagnon@oid.ok.gov **Captive Insurance** Steve Kinion Captive Director

**Community Outreach** Ashley Scott Government and Community Affairs Director

#### Comptroller

Sherry Marczewski Comptroller

**Consumer Assistance** Donna Dorr Director of Consumer Assistance

**Consumer Counseling Program for Seniors** Ray Walker Medicare Assistance Program Director

**Continuing Education** Erin Wainner Deputy Commissioner of Licensing Services

**Financial Analysis** Diane Carter Chief Financial Analyst

**Financial Examinations** Eli Snowbarger Chief Financial Examiner

**Government Relations and Public Policy** Ashley Scott Government and Community Affairs Director

Health Policy Mike Rhoads Deputy Commissioner of Consumer Services

Human Resources Angie Powers Human Resources Director (405) 522-2374 steve.kinion.ctr@oid.ok.gov

> (405) 521-6616 ashley.scott@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-4581 sherry.marczewski@oid.ok.gov

> (405) 521-4524 donna.dorr@oid.ok.gov

(405) 521-6632 ray.walker@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-0897 erin.wainner@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-6337 diane.carter@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-6179 eli.snowbarger@oid.ok.gov

(405) 521-6616 ashley.scott@oid.ok.gov

(918) 295-3702 mike.rhoads@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-0207 angie.powers@oid.ok.gov InsurTech Teresa Green Senior Counsel

**Legal** Kim Hunter General Counsel

Market Regulation Landon Hubbart Chief of Market Regulation

**Media Relations** Liz Heigle Chief Communications Officer

**Pharmacy Benefits Manager** Ashley Scott Director of PBM Licensing

**Producer Licensing** Courtney Khodabakhsh Director of Licensing

**Rates and Forms** Kurt Cagle Director of Rate and Form

Cuc Nguyen Chief Rate & Form Analyst

**Receivership** Kim Hunter General Counsel

Workers' Compensation Kim Hunter General Counsel 405-521-6654 teresa.green@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-6335 kim.hunter@oid.ok.gov

(405) 521-2379 landon.hubbart@oid.ok.gov

> (405) 522-0683 liz.heigle@oid.ok.gov

(405) 521-6616 ashley.scott@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-0806 courtney.khodabakhsh@oid.ok.gov

> (405) 522-3447 kurt.cagle@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-4608 cuc.nguyen@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-6335 kim.hunter@oid.ok.gov

(405) 522-6335 kim.hunter@oid.ok.gov