Cassie Brown Commissioner Secretary, Western Zone

Term of Office: Two-Year Term; Expires February 1, 2025 Appointed: September 8, 2021 Reappointed: February 3, 2023

Texas

Cassie Brown was appointed to serve as Texas insurance commissioner by Governor Greg Abbott in September 2021. She is the chief executive of the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), overseeing the regulation of the second largest insurance market in the nation and the seventh largest in the world. The agency regulates approximately 2,800 companies and more than 700,000 agents and adjusters.

Brown previously served as commissioner of the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC), having been appointed to the role by Governor Abbott in 2018 and reappointed in 2019 and 2021. Under her leadership, DWC cut customer service hotline hold times to less than 30 seconds, made it easier for system participants to share documents electronically and more securely, and continued to reduce medical costs and increase the number of injured employees returning to work.

Brown has more than 20 years of public service experience and serves on the Executive Women in Texas Government President's Advisory Committee. She was TDI's deputy commissioner for Regulatory Policy where she led the regulation of the forms, rates, and products sold in the Texas insurance market; oversaw the residual markets; assured the adequacy of insurers' loss control programs; and provided inspections and compliance activities related to the state's windstorm market.

Earlier in her career, Brown served as a key advisor to Governor Rick Perry on policy and budget issues including insurance, health regulatory, and workers' compensation. She also served in the administration of Governor George W. Bush.

Brown received a Bachelor of Arts in political science from St. Edward's University and attended the Governor's Executive Development Program at The University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs.

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12030 Austin, TX 78711-2030 United States Email Address mediarelations@tdi.texas.gov

Phone Numbers Main: (512) 676-6000 Toll-Free Number: (800) 578-4677

Fax Numbers

Main: (512) 490-1045

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday Website: https://www.tdi.texas.gov/ Make Checks Payable to: Texas Department of Insurance

Jessica Barta General Counsel	(512) 676-6571
Dan Paschal Chief Deputy Commissioner	(512) 676-6022
Debra Diaz-Lara Deputy Commissioner, Life & Health	(512) 676-6613
Debra Knight State Fire Marshal	(512) 676-6800
Jamie Walker Deputy Commissioner, Financial Regulation	(512) 676-6367
Leah Gillum Deputy Commissioner, Fraud and Enforcement	(512) 676-6357
Mark Worman Deputy Commissioner, Property & Casualty	(512) 676-6671
Melissa Burkhart Deputy Commissioner, Administrative Operations	(512) 676-6609
Randall Evans Deputy Commissioner, Customer Operations	(512) 676-6520

Contact Persons

Administrative Operations

Melissa Burkhart Deputy Commissioner, Administrative Operations

Amy Maddox **Chief Financial Officer**

Agent Testing Pearson VUE Exam Contractor

Annual Statement Copies Annual Statement Room

Communications

Jennifer Tisdale **Communications Director**

Complaints Resolution

Cindy Wright Consumer Protection, Director

General Information, Life, Accident, & Health, Property & Casualty

Customer Operations

Randall Evans Deputy Commissioner, Customer Operations

Deposits (Statutory)

Betty Betts Compliance Analyst

Enforcement

Leah Gillum Deputy Commissioner, Fraud and Enforcement

Mandy Meesey Associate Commissioner

Financial Regulation Division Vacant Examinations, Associate Commissioner

(512) 676-6609 melissa.burkhart@tdi.texas.gov

> (512) 676-6193 amy.maddox@tdi.texas.gov

> > (888) 754-7667

(512) 676-6885

(512) 676-6022 jennifer.tisdale@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6258 Cindy.Wright@tdi.texas.gov

(800) 252-3439

(512) 676-6520 Randall.Evans@tdi.texas.gov

> (512) 676-6376 betty.betts@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6357 Leah.Gillum@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6348 Mandy.Meesey@tdi.texas.gov

Shawn Frederick Examinations, Chief Examiner - Financial

Matthew Tarpley Examinations, Chief Examiner - Market Conduct

Vane Hugo Supervisory Interventions, Director

Jamie Walker Deputy Commissioner, Financial Regulation

Amy Garcia Financial Analysis, Associate Commissioner/Chief Analyst

General Counsel Margaret Jonon Legal, Financial Counsel, Director

Jessica Barta General Counsel

Allison Eberhart Deputy General Counsel

Carole Cearley Legal, Policy Development Counsel, Director

Government Relations

Dan Paschal Chief Deputy Commissioner

Kenisha Schuster Associate Commissioner, Government Relations

Human Resources Cynthia Olivier Director

Information Technology Services (Data Processing) Amy Lugo Director (512) 676-6832 Shawn.Frederick@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6829 Matthew.Tarpley@tdi.texas.gov

> (512) 676-6418 vane.hugo@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6367 Jamie.Walker@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6446 Amy.Garcia@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6565 Margaret.Jonon@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6571 jessica.barta@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6544 Allison.Eberhart@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6583 Carole.Cearley@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6022 dan.paschal@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6958 Kenisha.Schuster@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6101 Cynthia.Olivier@tdi.texas.gov

> (512) 676-6031 Amy.Lugo@tdi.texas.gov

Insurance Fraud Chris Davis Associate Commissioner

InsurTech Rachel Cloyd Litigation Director

Life & Health Division Debra Diaz-Lara Deputy Commissioner, Life & Health

Rachel Bowden Regulatory Initiatives Office, Director

Mindy Carroll Business Intelligence Office, Director

Colleen Anderson Managed Care Quality Assurance Office, Director

NAIC Liaison Dan Paschal Chief Deputy Commissioner

Premium Tax (Collected by the Comptroller's Office) Karen Snyder Comptroller of Public Accounts

Property & Casualty Division J'ne Byckovski Chief Actuary/Director, P&C Division

Marianne Baker Property & Casualty Lines, Director

Mark Worman Deputy Commissioner, Property & Casualty

SERFF Sharalyn Taylor SERFF Project Manager (512) 676-6295 Christopher.Davis@tdi.texas.gov

> 512-676-6349 rachel.cloyd@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6613 Debra.Diaz-Lara@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6616 Rachel.Bowden@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6643 Mindy.Carroll@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6413 Colleen.Anderson@tdi.texas.gov

> (512) 676-6022 dan.paschal@tdi.texas.gov

> > (512) 463-4074

(512) 676-6694 Jne.Byckovski@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6714 Marianne.Baker@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6671 Mark.Worman@tdi.texas.gov

(512) 676-6738 Sharalyn.Taylor@tdi.texas.gov

State Fire Marshal

Debra Knight State Fire Marshal