Chapter 6

Prelicensing Education

Prelicensing education is required in some states as a condition of licensure for resident insurance producers. Neither the *Producer Licensing Model Act* (#218) nor the Uniform Licensing Standards (ULS) suggests that a state must have a requirement for prelicensing education. States that have a prelicensing education requirement should follow the uniform standards as adopted by the Producer Licensing (EX) Working Group.

The ULS set a minimum credit hour requirement for prelicensing education. In 2010, the Working Group was charged with reviewing this standard. Updated information, if there are any changes to this standard, can be found on the Working Group's web page.

States that require prelicensing education shall require 20 credit hours of prelicensing education per major line of authority. The states must accept both classroom study and verifiable self-study, which includes both text and online courses. The ULS does not have a limit on the number of credits that can be obtained by self-study. The states shall independently determine the content requirements for prelicensing education. The ULS require that a state have a method to verify completion of prelicensing education, but they do not prescribe a method.

The ULS provide that a person who has completed a college degree in insurance shall be granted a waiver from all prelicensing education requirements. The ULS also provide that individuals holding certain professional designations approved by the insurance department should be granted a waiver from the prelicensing education requirement. In 2008, the ULS were updated to indicate that the following list of designations be provided as guidance for designations that would waive prelicensing education, but the list is not exhaustive:

Life: CEBS, ChFC, CIC, CFP, CLU, FLMI, LUTCF

Health: RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA

Property/Casualty (P/C): AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU

Under both reciprocity standards and the ULS, no state shall require prelicensing education for nonresident applicants or nonresident producers who change their state of residency.