Compiling...

Kansas: NIPR Paper Licensing
kansas: paper licensing

This page provides state-specific checklists, application forms and contacts for paper resident and non-resident licensing in the State of Kansas.

 

Non-Resident Licensing Checklist for Business Entities

Organizational Documents

  • License status in the business entity's state of domicile will be verified through PDB.
  • Report all agents affiliated with the business entity and licensed in Kansas, Report all branch office locations. Report if the business entity is an auto dealership, an auto rental agency, portable electronics agency or a financial institution. Report if the business entity sell credit products only and has no licensed personnel.

Other Requirements

  • Attach a check * or money order for $80 ($30 application fee + $50 license fee) 
    * Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept
  • In reference to question 25 on the business application, Kansas does not require an officer, director or partner of the business entity be licensed. As long as one person is licensed in Kansas, the agency license can be issued.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 working days of effective date of contractual agreement with company.

Non-Resident Licensing Checklist for Individuals

Organizational Documents

  • Certification of insurance authority in the state of residence is verified through the PDB.
  • NASD CRD report is required for variable contracts if that authority is not included in the PDB.

Other Requirements

  • Attach a check * or money order for $80 ($30 application fee + $50 license fee)
    * Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept
  • Applicant must be at least 18 years of age
  • Sign application
  • If applying for a Surplus Lines Producer license type, attach a check * or money order for $50
    application fee.
    *Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept.
  • If applying for a Public Adjuster license type, attach a check * or money order for $100 application fee. Applicant must enter Public Adjuster in the "Other" column on uniform application.
    *Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 working days of effective date of contractual agreement
    with company.

Resident Licensing Checklist for Business Entities

Organizational Documents

  • Report all agents affiliated with the business entity and licensed in Kansas; all branch office locations; if the business entity is an auto dealership, an auto rental agency, portable electronics agency or a financial institution; if the business entity does credit product business only and has no licensed personnel.

Other Requirements

  • Attach a check * or money order for $30 application fee 
    * Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept
  • Kansas does not require an officer, director, or partner of the business entity to be licensed (question 25 on the business application).  As long as one person is licensed in Kansas, the agency license can be issued. 
  • Designate a licensed agent to be responsible for the business entity's compliance with Kansas insurance laws and regulations.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 working days of effective date of contractual agreement with company.

Resident Licensing Checklist for Individuals

Organizational Documents

  • NASD CRD Report is required for variable contracts authority.

Other Requirements

  • Attach a check * or money order for the $90 application and fingerprint fee. 
    * Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept
  • Applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Provide a Letter of Clearance if previously licensed in another state and moving to Kansas.  A Letter of Clearance is not required if the other state participates in the PDB.
  • Sign Application
  • Pass the appropriate license examination
  • If the applicant has held an insurance agent's license in another state, application forms, fees, and/or examination requirements may be waived.  Contact the Kansas Insurance Department for details.
  • If applying for a Surplus Lines Producer license type, attach a check * or money order for $50 application fee. (Applicant must be applying for or currently hold an active license for Property & Casualty authority.)
    *Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept
  • If applying for a Public Adjuster license type, attach a check * or money order for $100 application fee. Applicant must enter Public Adjuster in the "Other" column on uniform application.
    *Checks payable to KS Insurance Dept.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 working days of effective date of contractual agreement
    with company.

 

DISCLAIMER

The National Insurance Producer Registry ("NIPR") populates the State Matrix of Business Rules ("State Matrix") with information provided directly from participating state insurance departments. Participating states are encouraged to provide updated information when appropriate. NIPR does not guarantee the completeness, accuracy or adequacy of the information in the State Matrix. The information in the State Matrix does not constitute legal advice and use of this information is at user's own risk and responsibility. Any questions regarding the interpretation of the rules or the accuracy of the information should be directed to the appropriate state insurance department.

Uniform Application for Business Entities

Uniform Application for Individuals

 

NON-RESIDENT LICENSING

Kansas accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for nonresident business entities and individuals.

RESIDENT LICENSING

Kansas accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for resident business entities and individuals.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Kansas Web Site

Mail Applications to:
Kansas Department of Insurance
Producers Division
1300 S.W. Arrowhead Road,
Topeka, KS 66604

 

Non-Resident Contacts

Business and Individual Licensing
785-296-7862
KID.Licensing@ks.gov

 

Resident Contacts

Business and Individual Licensing
785-296-7862
KID.Licensing@ks.gov

 

NIPR Licensing

Kansas Web Site

Mail Applications to:
Kansas Department of Insurance
Producers Division
1300 S.W. Arrowhead Road,
Topeka, KS 66604

 

Non-Resident Contacts

Business and Individual Licensing
785-296-7862
KID.Licensing@ks.gov

 

Resident Contacts

Business and Individual Licensing
785-296-7862
KID.Licensing@ks.gov

 

NIPR Licensing