Compiling...

Virginia: NIPR Paper Licensing
VIRGINIA: PAPER LICENSING

This page provides state-specific checklists, application forms and contacts for paper resident and non-resident licensing in the State of Virginia.

Non-Resident Licensing Checklist for Business Entities

Organizational Documents

  • Certificate of Authority (corporations), Certificate of Registration (limited liability company), or Certificate of Limited Partnership (limited partnership) from the Clerk of the Commission - call 804-371-9733 for procedures or visit its website at http://scc.virginia.gov/clk/index.aspx. Note: This is the equivalent of obtaining a certificate of authority from the Secretary of State in most other states.

    PLEASE NOTE: A business entity is NOT required to FIRST obtain its required certificate or charter from the Commission prior to its eligibility to obtain a producer license. Nevertheless, the business entity MUST still obtain the requisite certificate or charter within 90 calendar days of licensure. Failure to obtain the certificate or charter will result in the Bureau of Insurance terminating the producer license.

Other Requirements

  • Certified check, cashier or teller's check, company or agency check, or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia - SCC/BOI for $15 for each line of authority. This is a nonrefundable, nontransferable application processing fee.
  • For variable contracts, the applicant must provide its FINRA CRD #.
  • A properly completed application with applicant's signed Certification and Attestation.
  • The business entity must designate a responsible licensed producer (DRLP) who holds at least one Line of Authority (LOA) being applied for by the Business Applicant for the business entity's compliance with the insurance laws, rules and regulations of Virginia.
  • The DRLP on Surplus Lines Broker applications must hold an active VA (resident or non-resident) Producer Property & Casualty line of authority.
  • The DRLP on Viatical Settlement Broker applications must hold a (resident or non-resident) Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License only.
  • The DRLP on Consultant applications may hold ANY VA (resident or non-resident) active major line of authority (excluding Variable Contracts).
  • If the applicant answered yes to any of the background questions, 27-1 through 27-6, the applicant must attach all required documentation referenced on the Uniform Application.
  • Virginia does not license Sole Proprietorships.
  • Applicants who reside in Puerto Rico may not apply as Virginia does not have a reciprocal agreement with Puerto Rico.
  • An application is considered unapproved and closed after 30 days if the applicant fails to provide all required documentation.  A new application and non-refundable processing fee is required.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 working days of effective date of contractual agreement with company.

Obtaining a Copy of your License

Pursuant to Virginia Administrative Letter 2010-02, effective March 15, 2010, Virginia no longer mails printed licenses. You may print your license at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.

Back to Top


Non-Resident Licensing Checklist for Individuals

Other Requirements

  • Certified check, cashier or teller's check, company or agency check, or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia - SCC/BOI for $15 for each line of authority. This is a nonrefundable, nontransferable application processing fee.
  • For variable contracts, the applicant must have passed the Series 6 or Series 7 exam and provide the FINRA CRD #.
  • If question 36-1 has a yes answer, the following documentation must be attached: a copy of the 1033 waiver from your home state; a written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident; a certified copy of the charging document; a certified copy of the official document, which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment; and if applicable, a letter from the federal or state probation and parole office outlining your performance or satisfactory completion of your probationary period.
  • If the applicant answered yes to any of the background questions, 36-2 through 36-7, the applicant must attach all required documentation referenced on the Uniform Application.

    Florida and Pennsylvania residents that are applying for a Title License in Virginia must pass the VA Title pre-licensing examination.

    A properly completed application with applicant's signed Certification and Attestation.

    Do not use a company or any business address (including PO Box) as the individual producer's residence or mailing address. Virginia insurance statutes require the individual producer's residence (street) address to be the mailing address of record.

    The Property and Casualty line of authority includes Personal lines. Do not apply for both.

    Applicants who reside in Puerto Rico may not apply as Virginia does not have a reciprocal agreement with Puerto Rico.

    An application is considered unapproved and closed after 30 days if the applicant does not provide all required documentation. A new application and non-refundable processing fee is required.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 calendar days of the date of execution of the first insurance application or policy submitted by the licensee to the insurer.

Obtaining a Copy of your License

Pursuant to Virginia Administrative Letter 2010-02, effective March 15, 2010, Virginia no longer mails printed licenses. You may print your license at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.

Back to Top


Resident Licensing Checklist for Business Entities

Organizational Documents

  • Certificate of Incorporation, Certificate of Organization, or Certificate of Limited Partnership from the Clerk of the Commission – call 804-371-9733 for procedures or visit its website at http://scc.virginia.gov/clk/index.aspx. Note: This is the equivalent of obtaining a certificate of authority from the Secretary of State in most other states.

    PLEASE NOTE: A business entity is NOT required to FIRST obtain its required certificate or charter from the Commission prior to its eligibility to obtain a producer license. Nevertheless, the business entity MUST still obtain the requisite certificate or charter within 90 calendar days of licensure. Failure to obtain the certificate or charter will result in the Bureau of Insurance terminating the producer license.

Other Requirements

  • Certified check, cashier or teller's check, company or agency check, or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia – SCC/BOI for $15 for each line of authority. This is a nonrefundable, nontransferable processing fee.
  • For Variable Contracts, the business entity must hold a Life and Annuities license and have registered with FINRA.
  • The business entity must designate a responsible licensed producer (DRLP) who holds at least one Line of Authority (LOA) being applied for by the Business Applicant for the business entity's compliance with the insurance laws, rules and regulations of Virginia.
  • The DRLP on Surplus Lines Broker applications must hold an active VA (resident or non-resident) Producer Property & Casualty line of authority.
  • The DRLP on Viatical Settlement Broker applications must hold a (resident or non-resident) Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License only.
  • The DRLP on Consultant applications may hold ANY VA (resident or non-resident) active major line of authority (excluding Variable Contracts).
  • A properly completed application with applicant's signed Certification and Attestation.
  • If the applicant answered yes to any of the background questions, 27-1 through 27-6, the applicant must attach all required documentation referenced on the Uniform Application.
  • Virginia does not license Sole Proprietorships.
  • An application is considered unapproved and closed after 30 days if the applicant does not provide all required documentation. A new application and non-refundable processing fee is required.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • An application is considered unapproved and closed after 30 days if the applicant does not provide all required documentation. A new application and non-refundable processing fee is required.

Obtaining a Copy of your License

Pursuant to Virginia Administrative Letter 2010-02, effective March 15, 2010, Virginia no longer mails printed licenses. You may print your license at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.

Back to Top


Resident Licensing Checklist for Individuals

Other Requirements

  • Certified check, cashier or teller's check, company or agency check, or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia – SCC/BOI for $15 for each line of authority. This is a nonrefundable, nontransferable processing fee.
  • A current (no more than 90 days old) criminal history record report must be enclosed with each application, and must be obtained through the Virginia State Police by calling 804-674-2000 or through its website at: www.vsp.state.va.us.
  • If question 36-1 has a yes answer, the following documentation must be attached: a written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident; a certified copy of the charging document; a certified copy of the official document which demonstrates the resolution of the charges or any final judgment; if applicable, a letter from the federal or state probation and parole office outlining the performance or satisfactory completion of the probationary period; if applicable, a letter from the current or prospective employer if engaged in the business of insurance; and the employment history since the conviction and a copy of any civil rights restoration.
  • If the applicant answered yes to any of the background questions, 36-2 through 36-7, the applicant must attach all required documentation referenced on the Uniform Application.
  • Applicants moving into Virginia – If you were previously licensed in another state and submit a clearance letter within 90 calendar days of the cancellation of your previous home state license(s), you will not be required to pass the examination nor provide a criminal history record report prior to obtaining the resident license. If you fail to apply within the 90 calendar days, you will be required to pass the examination(s) and provide a current criminal history record report from your previous home state if you have resided in Virginia for less than six months.
  • Certificate from the American College – if you are a CLU and want the Life and Annuities examination or the Health examination, or the combination Life and Health examination waived, you must attach proof of your CLU designation.
  • Certificate from the American Institute for Property and Liability Underwriters – if you are a CPCU and want the Property and Casualty examination or Personal Lines examination waived, you must attach proof of your CPCU designation.
  • For Variable Contracts, the applicant must actively hold or apply at the same time for a Life and Annuities line of authority and must have passed the Series 6 or Series 7 examination, and provide FINRA CRD #.
  • Do not use a company or any business address (including PO Box) as the individual producer's residence or mailing address. Virginia insurance statutes require the individual producer's residence (street) address to be the mailing address of record.
  • A properly completed application with applicant's signed Certification and Attestation.
  • The Property and Casualty line of authority includes Personal lines. Do not apply for both.
  • An application is considered unapproved and closed after 30 days if the applicant does not provide all required documentation. A new application and non-refundable processing fee is required.

Appointment Requirements After Licensing

  • Appointment must be received within 30 calendar days of the date of execution of the first insurance application or policy submitted by the licensee to the insurer.

Obtaining a Copy of your License

Pursuant to Virginia Administrative Letter 2010-02, effective March 15, 2010, Virginia no longer mails printed licenses. You may print your license at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx.

Back to Top

DISCLAIMER

The National Insurance Producer Registry ("NIPR") populates the State Matrix of Business Rules ("State Matrix") with information provided directly from participating state insurance departments. Participating states are encouraged to provide updated information when appropriate. NIPR does not guarantee the completeness, accuracy or adequacy of the information in the State Matrix. The information in the State Matrix does not constitute legal advice and use of this information is at user's own risk and responsibility. Any questions regarding the interpretation of the rules or the accuracy of the information should be directed to the appropriate state insurance department.

Uniform Application for Business Entities

Uniform Application for Individuals

Non-Resident Licensing

Virginia accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for nonresident business entities and individuals.

Resident Licensing

Virginia accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for resident business entities and individuals.

Contact Information

Virginia Website

Mail Applications to:
Bureau of Insurance
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218

Overnight:
Bureau of Insurance
1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219

Non-Resident Contacts

Business and Individual
Agent Licensing
804-371-9631

Resident Contacts

Business and Individual
Agent Licensing
804-371-9631

NIPR Licensing