Compiling...

West Virginia: NIPR Paper Licensing
WEST VIRGINIA: PAPER LICENSING

This page provides state-specific checklists, application forms and contacts for paper resident and non-resident licensing in the State of West Virginia.

Non-Resident Licensing Checklist for Business Entities

"Business entity" - a corporation, association, partnership, limited liability company, or other legal entity.

"Insurance agency" - an individual, corporation, partnership, association, limited liability company, or other legal entity except for an employee of the individual, corporation, partnership, association, limited liability company, or other legal entity, and other than an insurer or an adjuster as defined by W. Va. Code § 33-12B-1, which employs individuals licensed to engage in activity or whose members engage in any activity be performed only by a licensed individual insurance producer or solicitor. It shall not include sole proprietor or partnerships in which there is only one licensed insurance producer.

You are not required to seek name approval from the Office of the Insurance Commissioner prior to filing application. The insurance commissioner may refuse to grant a license to act as an agency insurance producer proposing to do business under a name which is likely to deceive or mislead the public in this state.

No agency insurance producer may be licensed in West Virginia which has or uses a name so similar to that of any agency insurance producer already so licensed as to cause uncertainty or confusion; except that in case of conflict of names between two agency insurance producers the commissioner may permit or require the newly licensed agency insurance producer to use in West Virginia a trade name that is reasonably necessary to avoid such conflict.

Other Requirements

  • License status will be verified thru PDB If home state does not license business entities, a letter to that effect from that insurance department must be attached.

Fee Requirements

  • The licensing fee is $200.00. Payable by check or money order to the West 
    Virginia Insurance Commissioner. Fee is non-refundable—if application is returned for correction, another $200.00 fee must be submitted with the application.

Appointment Requirements

  • A business entity cannot be appointed. All sales, solicitations and negotiations must be conducted through an appointed and individual licensed producer.

Application Requirements

  • Designated Individual (item #23 on application): An individual licensed producer who is an officer, partner, or director responsible for the insurance agency's or business entity's compliance with the insurance laws and rules of West Virginia.
  • Lines of Authority (page 2 on application): Business entities will not be licensed by or assigned Lines of Authority.
  • Legal Business Type and License Registration Type (page 2): Until the application is updated to remove the blacked out areas on the application, circle the applicable category for each column.

Renewal Information

  • Business entity licenses expire June 30th, annually. Renewal notices will be mailed to business entities prior to the expiration date. The renewal fee is $200.00.

Back to Top


Resident Licensing Checklist for Business Entities

"Business entity" means a corporation, association, partnership, limited liability company, or other legal entity.

"Insurance agency" means an individual, corporation, partnership, association, limited liability company, or other legal entity except for an employee of the individual, corporation, partnership, association, limited liability company, or other legal entity, and other than an insurer or an adjuster as defined by W. Va. Code § 33-12B-1, which employs individuals licensed to engage in activity or whose members engage in any activity be performed only by a licensed individual insurance producer or solicitor. It shall not include sole proprietor or partnerships in which there is only one licensed insurance producer.

You are not required to seek name approval from the Office of the Insurance Commissioner prior to filing application. The insurance commissioner may refuse to grant a license to act as an agency insurance producer proposing to do business under a name which is likely to deceive or mislead the public in this state.

No agency insurance producer may be licensed in West Virginia which has or uses a name so similar to that of any agency insurance producer already so licensed as to cause uncertainty or confusion; except that in case of conflict of names between two agency insurance producers the commissioner may permit or require the newly licensed agency insurance producer to use in West Virginia a trade name that is reasonably necessary to avoid such conflict.

Fees

  • The licensing fee is $200.00. Check or money order payable to the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner. Fee is non-refundable—if application is returned for correction, another $200.00 fee must be submitted with the application.

Appointment Requirements

  • A business entity cannot be appointed. All sales, solicitations and negotiations must be conducted through an appointed and individual licensed producer.

Application Requirements

  • Designated Individual (item #23 on application): An individual licensed producer who is an officer, partner, or director responsible for the insurance agency's or business entity's compliance with the insurance laws and rules of West Virginia.
  • Lines of Authority (page 2 on application): Business entities will not be licensed by or assigned Lines of Authority.
  • Lines of Authority (page 2 on application): Business entities will not be licensed by or assigned Lines of Authority.

Renewal Information

  • Business entity licenses expire June 30th, annually. Renewal notices will be mailed to business entities prior to the expiration date. The renewal fee is $200.00.

Back to Top


Resident Licensing Checklist for Individuals

Fees

  • The licensing fee is $25.00. Payable by check (personal or business) or money order to the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner.

Appointment Requirements

  • No initial appointment is required with the application for license. Appointments must be submitted by insurance companies (electronically thru NIPR or, if paper, form WVAT located at www.wvinsurance.govunder AGENTS, Licensing Forms) within fifteen days from the date the agency contract is executed or the first insurance application is submitted.

Renewal Information

  • Producer license expire May 31st, annually. Renewal notices will be mailed to producers prior to the expiration date.

Attachments

  • Original Pre-Licensing Course Completion Certification, Original Pearson VUE Score Report(s) and, if applicable, Letter of Clearance.

    If moving to West Virginia from another state where a resident license was held, you must apply within 90 days of the date the license in the previous state was cancelled to be exempt from having to complete pre-licensing education and testing. Reciprocity is only allowed for those lines of authority held in the previous home state.

Back to Top

DISCLAIMER

The National Insurance Producer Registry ("NIPR") populates the State Matrix of Business Rules ("State Matrix") with information provided directly from participating state insurance departments. Participating states are encouraged to provide updated information when appropriate. NIPR does not guarantee the completeness, accuracy or adequacy of the information in the State Matrix. The information in the State Matrix does not constitute legal advice and use of this information is at user's own risk and responsibility. Any questions regarding the interpretation of the rules or the accuracy of the information should be directed to the appropriate state insurance department.

Uniform Application for Business Entities

Uniform Application for Individuals

Non-Resident Licensing

West Virginia accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for nonresident business entities.

Resident Licensing

West Virginia accepts the Uniform Licensing Application for resident business entities and individuals.

Contact Information

West Virginia Web Site

Mail Applications to:
Agents Licensing & Education
West Virginia Ins. Comm.
PO Box 50541
Charleston WV 25305-0541

Physical Mailing Address:
900 Pennsylvania Avenue, 7th Fl
Charleston, WV  25302

Non-Resident Contacts

Business
Agents Licensing & Education 
304-558-0610

West Virginia Code

West Virginia Code of State Rules

Resident Contacts

Business and Individual
Agents Licensing & Education 
304-558-0610

West Virginia Code

West Virginia Code of State Rules
see Emergency Rule 114-2, effective 5-29-2003.

NIPR Licensing