Climate and Resiliency (Ex) Task Force

2021 Membership

Mission

The mission of the Climate and Resiliency (EX) Task Force is to serve as the coordinating NAIC body for discussion and engagement on climate-related risk and resiliency issues, including dialogue among state insurance regulators, industry, and other stakeholders.

CLIMATE RISK AND RESILIENCY RESOURCE CENTER

2021 Adopted Charges

Ongoing Support of NAIC Program, Products or Services

The Climate and Resiliency (EX) Task Force will:

  1. Consider appropriate climate risk disclosures within the insurance sector, including:
    1. Evaluation of the Climate Risk Disclosure Survey.
    2. Evaluation of alignment with other sectors and international standards.
  2. Evaluate financial regulatory approaches to climate risk and resiliency in coordination with other relevant committees, task forces and working groups, such as the Financial Condition (E) Committee and the Financial Stability (EX) Task Force, including:
    1. Evaluation of the use of modeling by carriers and their reinsurers concerning climate risk.
    2. Evaluation of how rating agencies incorporate climate risk into their analysis and governance.
    3. Evaluation of the potential solvency impact of insurers’ exposures, including both underwriting and investments, to climate-related risks.
    4. Evaluation and development of climate risk-related disclosure, stress-testing, and scenario modeling.
  3. Consider innovative insurer solutions to climate risk and resiliency, including:
    1. Evaluation of how to apply technology and innovation to the mitigation of storm, wildfire, other climate risks and earthquake.
    2. Evaluation of insurance product innovation directed at reducing, managing and mitigating climate risk, and closing protection gaps.
  4. Identify sustainability, resilience and mitigation issues and solutions related to the insurance industry.
  5. Consider pre-disaster mitigation and resiliency and the role of state insurance regulators in resiliency.

NAIC Support Staff: Jennifer Gardner

 

Solvency Workstream of the Climate and Resiliency (EX) Task Force 210505

Public Webex Meeting
Wednesday, May 05, 2021
11:00 AM ET, 10:00 AM CT, 9:00 AM MT, 8:00 AM PT Expected Length of Call: 90 minutes
Webex Link

SOLVENCY WORKSTREAM MEETING

The purpose of the meeting is to hear presentations to provide an international overview of current state of regulatory activities by insurance financial supervisors.


Climate TF Call 210507

Public Webex Meeting
Friday, May 07, 2021
12:00 PM ET, 11:00 AM CT, 10:00 AM MT, 9:00 AM PT Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

TECHNOLOGY WORKSTREAM

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the need for a referral to the Catastrophe Insurance (C) Working Group to consider revisions to the Catastrophe Computer Modeling Handbook and to discuss the need for a compendium of state laws pertaining to the use of catastrophe models in insurance.


Climate TF Call 210510

Public Webex Meeting
Monday, May 10, 2021
3:00 PM ET, 2:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM MT, 12:00 PM PT Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

INNOVATION WORKSTREAM

Hear a presentation regarding Residential Hurricane Protection, a parametric insurance product offered through First Insurance Company of Hawaii, and to discuss regulatory concerns and deliverables for the Workstream related to parametric insurance.


Climate TF Call 210512

Public Webex Meeting
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
2:00 PM ET, 1:00 PM CT, 12:00 PM MT, 11:00 AM PT Expected Length of Call: 75 mins
Webex Link

CLIMATE DISCLOSURE WORKSTREAM

The purpose of the call is to hear from NAIC consumer representatives on climate disclosures, discuss Questions to Determine Objectives of NAIC Climate Disclosures, including comments received and their administration.


Climate TF Call 210325

Public Webex Meeting
Thursday, March 25, 2021
10:00 AM ET, 9:00 AM CT, 8:00 AM MT, 7:00 AM PT Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

INNOVATION WORKSTREAM MEETING

The purpose of the meeting is to hear presentations regarding parametric products designed to fill coverage gaps following catastrophic events.


Climate TF Call 210310

Public Webex Meeting
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
8:00 AM ET, 7:00 AM CT, 6:00 AM MT, 5:00 AM PT Expected Length of Call: 75 mins
Webex Link

The purpose of the call is discuss climate disclosure recommendations to the Task Force. Participation of interested parties is encouraged.


Climate and Resiliency (EX) Task Force

2021 Spring National Meeting
Climate and Resiliency (EX) Task Force
Friday, April 09, 2021
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM CT

Related NAIC Publications

Contacts

Media Inquiries
(816) 783-8909
news@naic.org


Jennifer Gardner
Data Coordination and Statistical Analysis Manager
Phone: 816-783-8758

Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.