Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Delaware

Trinidad Navarro

Commissioner

Chair, Northeast Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

Trinidad Navarro was elected in 2016 as the State of Delaware's 26th Insurance Commissioner. He was re-elected in 2020. In this role, he works to ensure insurance affordability and availability for residents as well as the accountability of insurance companies. As Commissioner, he leads the office charged with protecting, educating, and advocating for Delaware residents.

The Department offers free Medicare counseling services and works on the Health Insurance Marketplace, provides arbitration services to residents, and fights and prevents fraud. The Department also works to ensure insurance companies are financially sound, licenses more than 220,000 individuals in related professions, proposes the state's workers' compensation rates, helps more than a thousand companies create safer workplaces to lower their insurance rates by over $7 million, and so much more.

During the Commissioner's term in office, the Department has made great strides. He has increased department diversity and internal promotions. In 2017, the Commissioner worked with the General Assembly to pass House Substitute 1 to House Bill 80, a signature piece of legislation that ends discrimination in auto insurance policies. The law ensures that neither race, age, gender, economic status, nor other personal characteristics impact the cost of auto policies.

In 2020, the office reduced Health Insurance Marketplace rates for the second time in the state's history, leading to a 5% increase in enrollment, and returned $21.5 million in premiums to individuals and small businesses. The department completed two of the state's first Mental Health Parity examinations, assessing $597,000 in penalties. Businesses saved $4 million in workers' compensation premiums due to a double digit decrease in rates, and another decrease was approved for 2021.

A lifelong Delawarean, Commissioner Navarro has an extensive record of public service. He served for 20 years with the New Castle County Police and was elected New Castle County Sheriff in 2010. While a police officer, he received the department's distinguished Medal of Valor.

Commissioner Navarro serves as chair of the NAIC's Northeast Zone and member of the Executive (EX) Committee; chair of the Antifraud (D) Task Force; and vice chair of the Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs (D) Committee.

Additionally, Commissioner Navarro serves on many state boards such as the Delaware Health Care Commission, the State Employees Benefits Committee (SEBC), the Plans Management Board, the Council on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, and the Primary Care Reform Collaborative.

Commissioner Navarro has two daughters, Kylie and Hannah, and one son, Jordan. He resides in Bear, DE with his wife Melissa and youngest daughter Hannah.

Office Information
Main

Delaware Department of Insurance
1351 W. North Street
Suite 101
Dover, DE 19904
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Delaware

    Susan Jennette
    Director, Insurance Consumer Protection Enforcement

    (302) 674-7319

    susan.jennette@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Gerald Pepper
    Director, Insurance Fraud Prevention

    (302) 674-7352

    gerald.pepper@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Joseph Maddox
    Controller

    (302) 674-7382

    joseph.maddox@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Tanisha Merced
    Deputy Insurance Commissioner

    (302) 674-7391

    tanisha.merced@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Stuart Snyder
    Chief of Staff

    (302) 674-7312

    stuart.snyder@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Victoria 'Dee' Jones
    Executive Assistant to Commissioner

    (302) 674-7305

    victoria.jones@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Tiffany Kent
    Executive Assistant to Deputy Commissioner

    (302) 674-7306

    tiffany.kent@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Christina Miller
    Special Deputy to the Commissioner

    (302) 674-7353

    christina.miller@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Stephen C. Taylor
    Director, Bureau of Captive & Financial Insurance Products

    (302) 577-5258

    stephen.taylor@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Annual Statements

    Nicole Brittingham
    Director, Bureau of Examination, Rehabilitation and Guaranty (BERG)

    (302) 674-7335

    nicole.brittingham@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Company Licensing

    Sherry Wilson
    BERG Office Manager

    (302) 674-6246

    sherry.wilson@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Department Counsel

    Kathleen 'Kitty' Makowski
    Deputy Attorney General (DAG)

    (302) 674-7326

    kathleen.makowski@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Department Counsel

    Jessica Willey
    Deputy Attorney General (DAG)

    (302) 674-7387

    jessica.willey@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Department Counsel

    Michael A. Capasso
    Deputy Attorney General (DAG)

    (302) 674-7381

    michael.capasso@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Email by Division

    Producer Licensing
    Email

    licensing@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Email by Division

    Bureau of Examination, Rehabilitation and Guaranty (BERG)
    Email

    berg@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Email by Division

    Consumer Services
    Email

    consumer@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Email by Division

    Delaware Medical Assistance Bureau
    Email

    DMAB@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Email by Division

    Fraud Prevention
    Email

    fraud@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Email by Division

    Workplace Safety
    Email

    safety@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Examinations - Financial

    Nicole Brittingham
    Director, Bureau of Examination, Rehabilitation and Guaranty (BERG)

    (302) 674-7335

    nicole.brittingham@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Examinations - Market Conduct

    Robin David
    Supervisor, Market Conduct and Producer Licensing

    (302) 674-7348

    robin.david@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Fees - Companies

    Sherry Wilson
    BERG Office Manager

    (302) 674-6246

    sherry.wilson@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Fees - Producers

    Robin David
    Supervisor, Market Conduct and Producer Licensing

    (302) 674-7348

    robin.david@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Information Systems

    Tim Li
    Director, Information Technology

    (302) 647-7332

    tim.li@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    InsurTech

    Nicole Brittingham
    Director, Bureau of Examination, Rehabilitation and Guaranty (BERG)

    (302) 674-7335

    nicole.brittingham@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Media Relations/Public Information

    Christina Haas
    Senior Advisor

    (302) 674-7303

    christina.haas@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    NAIC Liaison

    Christina Haas
    Senior Advisor

    (302) 674-7303

    christina.haas@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Policy and Form Filing

    Jennifer Stinson
    Property and Casualty Rating Analyst

    (302) 674-7385

    jennifer.stinson@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Policy and Form Filing

    Jan Brunory
    Life and Health Rating Analyst

    (302) 674-7374

    janet.brunory@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Policy and Form Filing

    Ann Lyon
    Property and Casualty Rating Analyst

    (302) 674-7372

    ann.lyon@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Premium Tax

    Jeannine N. Neal
    Fiscal Analyst, Premium Taxes

    (302) 674-7339

    jeannine.neal@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Producer Licensing

    Robin David
    Supervisor, Market Conduct and Producer Licensing

    (302) 674-7348

    robin.david@delaware.gov

  • Delaware

    Statistical Reporting

    Nicole Brittingham
    Director, Bureau of Examination, Rehabilitation and Guaranty (BERG)

    (302) 674-7335

    nicole.brittingham@delaware.gov

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.