Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Florida

Michael Yaworsky

Commissioner

Southeast Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

Michael Yaworsky was appointed as Florida’s Insurance Commissioner by the Financial Services Commission, effective March 13, 2023, after serving as Interim Commissioner for one month.

The Insurance Commissioner is considered the agency head for purposes of final agency action for all areas within the regulatory authority delegated to the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (OIR).

Prior to his nomination, Commissioner Yaworsky served as vice chairman of the Florida Gaming Control Commission and as the OIR’s chief of staff from 2017 to 2021. As the OIR’s chief of staff, he assisted in overseeing one of the largest insurance markets in the world by serving as a policy advisor to the Commissioner and managing agency fiscal matters and administrative operations. Prior to joining the OIR, he served as legal counsel for the Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner.

Commissioner Yaworsky serves on the board of directors for Family Promise of the Big Bend, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping families experiencing homelessness and low-income families achieve sustainable independence through a community-based response.

Commissioner Yaworsky earned a Juris Doctor (J.D) from Samford University’s Cumberland School of Law (Homewood, AL) and a bachelor’s degree in social science from Florida State University.

The OIR is the lead regulatory agency overseeing Florida’s insurance industry—one of the largest, most complex insurance industries in the world. It is housed within the Department of Financial Services (DFS) for administrative, personnel, and technology support.

Office Information
Mailing Address

Florida Office of Insurance Regulation
The Larson Building
200 E. Gaines Street, Rm 101A
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0305
United States

Main

Florida Department of Financial Services
J. Edwin Larson Building
200 E. Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0301
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Florida

    Vacant
    Deputy Commissioner, Life and Health

  • Florida

    Alexis Bakofsky
    Chief of Staff

    (850) 413-5000

    Alexis.Bakofsky@floir.com

  • Florida

    Samantha Bequer
    Communications Director

    (850) 413-5128

    samantha.bequer@floir.com

  • Florida

    Anoush Brangaccio
    General Counsel

    (850) 413-4116

    Anoush.Brangaccio@floir.com

  • Florida

    Virginia Christy
    Deputy Commissioner, Property & Casualty

    (850) 413-5019

    virginia.christy@floir.com

  • Florida

    Kevin Jacobs
    Deputy Chief of Staff / Legislative Affairs Director

    (850) 413-5011

    kevin.jacobs@floir.com

  • Florida

    Sheryl Parker
    Deputy Commissioner, Market Regulation

    (850) 413-5086

    sheryl.parker@floir.com

  • Florida

    Deanna Sablan
    Inspector General

    (850) 413-4980

    Deanna.Sablan@floir.com

  • Florida

    Agent Services

    Division of Agent & Agency Services
    https://myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents/

    (850) 413-3137

  • Florida

    Annual Statements - Life & Health Filings

    Carolyn Morgan
    Director, Life and Health Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-5233

    Carolyn.Morgan@floir.com

  • Florida

    Annual Statements - Property & Casualty Filings

    Jane Nelson
    Director, Property and Casualty Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-3825

    jane.nelson@floir.com

  • Florida

    Company Licensing

    Carolyn Morgan
    Director, Life and Health Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-5233

    Carolyn.Morgan@floir.com

  • Florida

    Company Licensing

    Jane Nelson
    Director, Property and Casualty Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-3825

    jane.nelson@floir.com

  • Florida

    Consumer Services

    Division of Consumer Services
    https://myfloridacfo.com/Division/Consumers/contactus.htm

    (850) 413-3089

    consumer.Services@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Examinations - Financial

    Carolyn Morgan
    Director, Life and Health Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-5233

    Carolyn.Morgan@floir.com

  • Florida

    Examinations - Financial

    Jane Nelson
    Director, Property and Casualty Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-3825

    jane.nelson@floir.com

  • Florida

    Examinations - Market Regulation

    Samantha Heyn
    Director, Life and Health Market Regulation

    (850) 413-2628

    Samantha.Heyn@floir.com

  • Florida

    Examinations - Market Regulation

    Alex May
    Director, Property & Casualty Market Regulation

    (850) 413-3085

    alex.may@floir.com

  • Florida

    Information Technology

    Rebecca Smid
    Director, Market Research & Technology

    (850) 413-5021

    Rebecca.Smid@floir.com

  • Florida

    Life Insurance

    Carolyn Morgan
    Director, Life and Health Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-5233

    Carolyn.Morgan@floir.com

  • Florida

    Life Insurance

    James Dunn
    Director, Life & Health Product Review

    (850) 413-5136

    James.Dunn@floir.com

  • Florida

    Managed Care

    Carolyn Morgan
    Director, Life and Health Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-5233

    Carolyn.Morgan@floir.com

  • Florida

    Premium Tax - Surplus Lines

    Jane Nelson
    Director, Property and Casualty Financial Oversight

    (850) 413-3825

    jane.nelson@floir.com

  • Florida

    Rate and Form Filing - Life & Health

    James Dunn
    Director, Life & Health Product Review

    (850) 413-5136

    James.Dunn@floir.com

Florida

Jimmy Patronis

Chief Financial Officer

Southeast Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

Jimmy Patronis is a native Floridian born and raised in Panama City. He earned his associate degree in restaurant management from Gulf Coast Community College and a bachelor’s degree in political science from Florida State University. He is a partner in a family-owned seafood restaurant called Captain Anderson’s, which celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2017.

His public service career began as an intern in the FL Senate and the United Kingdom’s House of Commons. After graduation, Governor Lawton Chiles appointed him to the FL Elections Commission, and he was reappointed by Governor Jeb Bush. He served in the FL House of Representatives from 2006 to 2014, representing his hometown region in the FL Panhandle. He was appointed to serve on FL’s Public Service Commission, as well as the Constitution Revision Commission, which meets once every 20 years to propose changes to the state constitution.

Recognized for outstanding leadership in his hometown of Panama City and throughout FL, he is committed to active civic engagement and business development. He has chaired the Greater Panama City Beach Chamber of Commerce’s Economic Development Council, served on the board of the Bay County Economic Development Alliance, the Salvation Army Advisory Board, the Bay County Chapter of the FL Restaurant and Lodging Association, and national president for the FL Vocational Industrial Clubs of America. He is a former trustee of the Gulf Coast Medical Center, and former director of the Bay Medical Center’s Foundation and Gulf Coast Community College Foundation Board. He was instrumental in the establishment of the Northwest FL Beaches International Airport in Panama City and has served as chairman and a board member of Bay County-Panama City International Airport and Industrial District.

Patronis and his wife, Katie, are proud parents to Jimmy Theo III and John Michael and are lifelong members of the Saint John’s Greek Orthodox Church.

Office Information
Mailing Address

Florida Office of Insurance Regulation
The Larson Building
200 E. Gaines Street, Rm 101A
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0305
United States

Main

Florida Department of Financial Services
J. Edwin Larson Building
200 E. Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0301
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Florida

    Tasha Carter
    Insurance Consumer Advocate

    (850) 413-2868

    Tasha.Carter@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Frank Collins
    Deputy CFO, Consumer Protection & Communication

    (850) 413-2624

    Frank.Collins@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Tanya Cooper
    Director, Cabinet Affairs

    (850) 413-2824

    Tanya.Cooper@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Michael Dobson
    General Counsel

    (850) 413-4912

    Michael.Dobson@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Scott Fennell
    Deputy CFO, Operations

    (850) 413-2908

    scott.fennell@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    David Harper
    Inspector General

    (850) 413-4961

    David.Harper@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Julie Jones
    Deputy CFO, Law Enforcement

    (850) 413-2829

    Julie.Jones@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Susan Miller
    Deputy Chief of Staff

    (850) 413-2980

    susan.miller@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Peter Penrod
    Chief of Staff

    (850) 413-4900

    Peter.Penrod@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Austin Stowers
    Director, Legislative Affairs

    (850) 413-5939

    Austin.Stowers@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Robert Tornillo
    Senior Cabinet Aide

    (850) 413-2821

    robert.tornillo@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Consumer Services

    Greg Thomas
    Director

    (850) 413-5401

    greg.thomas@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Consumer Services

    Sean Fisher
    Assistant Director

    (850) 413-5784

    sean.fisher@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Consumer Services

    Brandi Wilson
    Bureau Chief, Consumer Assistance

    (850) 413-5841

    brandi.wilson@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Fees

    Alexandra Weimorts
    Bureau Chief, Financial Services

    (850) 413-2092

    alexandra.weimorts@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Funeral, Cemetery, and Consumer Services

    Mary Schwantes
    Director

    (850) 413-4984

    mary.schwantes@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Funeral, Cemetery, and Consumer Services

    Ellen Simon
    Assistant Director

    (850) 413-4985

    Ellen.Simon@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Insurance Agent and Agency Services

    Greg Thomas
    Director

    (850) 413-5401

    greg.thomas@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Insurance Agent and Agency Services

    Ray Wenger
    Bureau Chief, Investigations

    (850) 413-5605

    ray.wenger@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Insurance Agent and Agency Services

    David Jones
    Bureau Chief, Licensing

    (850) 413-5460

    david.jones@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Insurance Agent and Agency Services

    Matt Tamplin
    Assistant Director, Insurance Agent and Agency Services

    (850) 413-5496

    matt.tamplin@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Investigative and Forensic Services

    Col. Simon Blank
    Director

    (850) 413-4001

    simon.blank@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Investigative and Forensic Services

    Carl Chasteen
    Bureau Chief, Forensic Services

    (850) 539-2705

    carl.chasteen@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Investigative and Forensic Services

    Thomas Bosco
    Bureau Chief, Fire, Arson, & Explosives Investigations

    (850) 413-3909

    Thomas.Bosco@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Investigative and Forensic Services

    Lt. Col. Evangelina Brooks
    Assistant Director

    (850) 413-4020

    evangelina.brooks@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Investigative and Forensic Services

    Ernie Stoll
    Director, Public Assistance Fraud

    (850) 413-1958

    ernie.stoll@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Investigative and Forensic Services

    Chris Welch
    Bureau Chief, Workers' Compensation Fraud

    (850) 413-4053

    Chris.Welch@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Licensing Examinations - Agents

    Matt Tamplin
    Assistant Director, Insurance Agent and Agency Services

    (850) 413-5496

    matt.tamplin@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Media Relations/Public Information

    Devin Galetta
    Director, Communications

    (850) 413-2870

    Devin.Galetta@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Risk Management

    Molly Merry
    Director

    (850) 413-4701

    molly.merry@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Risk Management

    Jeff Cagle
    Bureau Chief, Risk Financing & Loss Prevention

    (850) 413-4704

    Jeff.Cagle@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Risk Management

    Kelly Fitton
    Bureau Chief, State Employee WC claims

    (850) 413-4801

    Kelly.Fitton@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Risk Management

    Kelly Hagenbeck
    Bureau Chief, State Liability & Property Claims

    (850) 413-4851

    Kelly.Hagenbeck@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Treasury Deposits

    Kenneth Lee
    Bureau Chief, Collateral Management

    (850) 413-3383

    kenneth.lee@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Workers' Compensation

    Tanner Holloman
    Director

    (850) 413-1622

    taner.holloman@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Workers' Compensation

    Andrew Sabolic
    Assistant Director

    (850) 413-1628

    andrew.sabolic@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Workers' Compensation

    Pam Macon
    Bureau Chief, Compliance

    (850) 413-1708

    pam.macon@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Workers' Compensation

    Charlene Miller
    Bureau Chief, Monitoring & Audit

    (850) 413-1738

    charlene.miller@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Workers' Compensation

    Leah Gardner
    Bureau Chief, Financial Accountability

    (850) 413-1705

    Leah.Gardner@myfloridacfo.com

  • Florida

    Workers' Compensation

    Lisel Laslie
    Bureau Chief, Employee Asst. & Ombudsman Office

    (850) 413-1737

    lisel.laslie@myfloridacfo.com

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.