Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Louisiana

James J. Donelon

Commissioner

Secretary, Southeast Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

James J. Donelon has served as Insurance Commissioner for the State of Louisiana since 2006. He has been elected and re-elected five times, making him the longest-serving insurance commissioner in Louisiana history, and currently is the second longest-serving insurance commissioner in the nation.

During Donelon’s 15 years in office, he has overseen Louisiana’s recovery from the devastating hurricanes Katrina and Rita, the implementation of the Affordable Care Act and recently, the state’s worst hurricane season ever with five named storms making landfall in Louisiana. He has sought to improve the effectiveness, efficiency, and transparency of insurance regulation, and to protect consumers by strengthening markets and improving consumer choice. Under his watch, 32 new homeowners insurance companies have started doing business in Louisiana since Hurricane Katrina.

Donelon served as President of the NAIC in 2013, becoming the first commissioner from Louisiana to hold that honor. He remains active in the NAIC and currently serves on its Executive (EX) Committee and as chair of the Surplus Lines (C) Task Force, chair of the Receivership and Insolvency (E) Task Force, and co-vice chair of the Climate and Resiliency (EX) Task Force.

Born in New Orleans, Donelon received his Bachelor of Arts from the University of New Orleans and earned his J.D. from the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law.

Donelon was first elected to public office in 1975 when he became chairman of the Jefferson Parish Council. From 1981 to 2001 he served in the Louisiana House of Representatives, where he rose to the position of Chairman of the Committee on Insurance. Donelon joined the staff of the Louisiana Department of Insurance in 2001, serving as executive counsel and chief deputy commissioner before assuming office as Insurance Commissioner in February 2006. His public service career also includes 33 years in the Louisiana Army National Guard, where he retired with the rank of Colonel and received the prestigious Legion of Merit medal.

He and his wife Merilynn reside in Jefferson Parish. They have four daughters, six granddaughters and two grandsons.

Office Information
Main

Louisiana Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Louisiana

    Danielle Santangelo
    Executive Assistant to the Commissioner

    (225) 342-7275

    danielle.santangelo@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Nick Lorusso
    Chief Deputy Commissioner

    (225) 342-9183

    nicholas.lorusso@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Denise Gardner
    Chief of Staff

    (225) 342-7276

    denise.gardner@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    David Caldwell
    Executive Counsel

    (225) 342-4673

    david.caldwell@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Vacant
    Deputy Commissioner, Consumer Services

  • Louisiana

    Frank Opelka
    Deputy Commissioner, Health, Life and Annuity

    (225) 219-1688

    frank.opelka@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Matthew Stewart
    Deputy Commissioner, Licensing

    (225) 219-5941

    matthew.stewart@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Vacant
    Deputy Commissioner, Property and Casualty

  • Louisiana

    Nathan Strebeck
    Deputy Commissioner, Fraud

    (225) 219-5819

    nathan.strebeck@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Ron Henderson
    Deputy Commissioner, Consumer Advocacy and Diversity

    (225) 219-4771

    ron.henderson@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Actuarial Services

    Rod Friedy
    Director, Life and Health Actuarial

    (225) 342-4656

    rod.friedy@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Actuarial Services

    Nichole Torblaa
    Director, P/C Actuarial

    (225) 342-4657

    nichole.torblaa@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Annual Statements

    Stewart Guerin
    Deputy Commissioner, Financial Solvency

    (225) 219-3929

    stewart.guerin@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Consumer Services

    Robert Barnes
    Insurance Administrator

    (225) 219-7813

    robert.barnes@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Consumer Services

    Daniel Pittman
    Insurance Manager, Complaints

    (225) 342-8640

    daniel.pittman@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Consumer Services

    Lisa Fullington
    Insurance Manager, Market Conduct

    (225) 219-5159

    lisa.fullington@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Financial Solvency

    Bill Werner
    Compliance Examiner Chief, Analysis

    (225) 219-1818

    bill.werner@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Financial Solvency

    Shantell Taylor
    Compliance Examiner Deputy Chief, Analysis

    (225) 342-9323

    shantell.taylor@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Financial Solvency

    Melissa Gibson
    Compliance Examiner Chief, Examinations

    (225) 342-9188

    melissa.gibson@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Financial Solvency

    Cindy Riviere
    Compliance Examiner Deputy Chief, Examinations

    (225) 342-9171

    cindy.riviere@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Fraud and Enforcement

    Dominique Jones
    Insurance Administrator

    (225) 219-7841

    dominique.jones@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Information Systems

    Toby Guillory
    IT Director

    (225) 342-8591

    toby.guillory@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    InsurTech

    Tom Travis
    Director, LPCIC

    (225) 342-2136

    thomas.travis@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Licensing

    Tangela Byrd
    Insurance Manager, Company Licensing

    (225) 342-5972

    tangela.byrd@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Licensing

    Lorie Gasior
    Insurance Manager, Producer Licensing

    (225) 219-7784

    lorie.gasior@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Licensing

    Vacant
    Insurance Administrator

  • Louisiana

    Louisiana Automobile Theft and Insurance Fraud Prevention Authority (LATIFPA)

    Crystal Stutes
    Director

    (225) 342-4311

  • Louisiana

    Louisiana Health Care Commission (LHCC)

    Crystal Stutes
    Director

    (225) 342-4311

  • Louisiana

    Louisiana Property and Casualty Insurance Commission (LPCIC)

    Tom Travis
    Director, LPCIC

    (225) 342-2136

    thomas.travis@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Management and Finance

    Lance Herrin
    Deputy Undersecretary

    (225) 342-3981

    lance.herrin@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Management and Finance

    Stacie Evans
    Human Resources Director

    (225) 342-0119

    stacie.evans@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Media Relations/Public Information

    John Ford
    Deputy Commissioner

    (225) 342-4950

    public@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    NAIC Liaison

    Tom Travis
    Director, LPCIC

    (225) 342-2136

    thomas.travis@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Policy Form Filing - Health

    Jerri McClendon
    Insurance Manager

    (225) 219-9526

    jerri.mcclendon@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Policy Form Filing - Life & Annuity

    Dee Dee Mathews
    Insurance Manager

    (225) 219-0633

    deedee.mathews@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Policy Form Filing - Property &Casualty

    Rachelle Carter
    Insurance Manager

    (225) 219-5093

    rachelle.carter@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Rate Filing - Property & Casualty

    Charles Hansberry
    Insurance Administrator

    (225) 342-5213

    charles.hansberry@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Rate Filing - Property & Casualty

    Neysa Hurst
    Insurance Manager

    (225) 342-5455

    neysa.hurst@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Receivership

    Walt Corey
    Attorney

    (225) 219-0605

    walt.corey@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Senior Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP)

    Vicki Dufrene
    Insurance Manager

    (225) 219-7731

    vicki.dufrene@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Statistical Reporting

    Bernadine Jones
    Compliance Examiner Manager

    (225) 342-5825

    bernadine.jones1@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Statutory Deposits

    Ashley Murphy
    Insurance Specialist

    (225) 342-1259

    ashley.murphy@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Surplus Lines

    Tom Travis
    Director, LPCIC

    (225) 342-2136

    thomas.travis@ldi.la.gov

  • Louisiana

    Taxes - Premium & Surplus Lines

    Tommy Coco
    Compliance Examiner Deputy Chief, Premium Tax

    (225) 342-5825

    tommy.coco@ldi.la.gov

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.