Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Minnesota

Grace Arnold

Commissioner

Midwest Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

Commissioner Grace Arnold leads the Minnesota Department of Commerce. She was appointed by Governor Walz in April 2021 and reappointed in January 2023. 

As overseer of state industries that provide financial security to Minnesotans and energy policy in Minnesota, Commissioner Arnold is committed to ensuring Commerce’s regulated markets are fair and accessible to all Minnesotans, and that Minnesota is a leader in creating a clean energy economy.

Prior to her appointment as Commissioner, she served as Deputy Commissioner of Insurance for the Commerce Department. In that role, she oversaw the life insurance, health insurance, and property and casualty insurance markets in Minnesota, ensuring that Minnesotans’ insurance complies with Minnesota law and that insurance companies are financially strong. 

Commissioner Arnold spent nearly a decade at the Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services where she helped lead the technology turnaround of healthcare.gov and led policy development during the implementation of the Affordable Care Act. Before joining the Department, Commissioner Arnold led product development for individual and family plans at Bright Health, a Minneapolis-based health insurer. 

Commissioner Arnold enjoys spending time with her family and has a love for being outdoors, gardening and traveling.

Office Information
Main

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Place East
Suite 280
St. Paul, MN 55101
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Minnesota

    Julia Dreier
    Deputy Commissioner of Insurance

    (651) 539-1755

    Julia.Dreier@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Peter Brickwedde
    Assistant Commissioner of Government & External Affairs

    (651) 539-1443

    peter.brickwedde@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Heidi Retterath
    Executive Assistant

    (651) 539-1445

    heidi.retterath@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Vacant
    Director of Regulation and Policy Strategy

  • Minnesota

    Actuary - Health

    Julia Lyng
    Chief Health Actuary

    (651) 539-1758

    Julia.Lyng@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Actuary - Life

    Frederick Andersen
    Chief Life Actuary

    (651) 539-1753

    frederick.andersen@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Actuary - PBR

    John Robinson
    PBR Actuary

    (651) 539-1750

    john.w.robinson@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Actuary - Property and Casualty

    Phil Vigliaturo
    Property and Casualty Actuary

    (651) 539-1762

    phil.vigliaturo@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Agent Licensing

    Peter Bratsch
    Director, Licensing

    (651) 539-1585

    peter.bratsch@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Annual Statements

    Kathleen Orth
    Chief Examiner/Insurance Solvency Manager

    (651) 539-1763

    kathleen.orth@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Consumer Complaints and Inquiries

    Martin Fleischhacker
    Sr. Financial Fraud Ombudsman

    (651) 539-1601

    martin.fleischhacker@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Consumer Complaints and Inquiries

    Jacqueline Olson
    Assistant Commissioner, Enforcement Division

    651-539-4031

    jacqueline.olson@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Deposits - Check

    Sherry Cook

    (651) 539-1527

    sherry.cook@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Deposits - Statutory

    Jenn Gagner
    Applications Coordinator

    (651) 539-1695

    jenn.gagner@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Examinations - Agent

    Peter Bratsch
    Director, Licensing

    (651) 539-1585

    peter.bratsch@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Examinations - Financial

    Kathleen Orth
    Chief Examiner/Insurance Solvency Manager

    (651) 539-1763

    kathleen.orth@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Examinations - Market Conduct

    Paul Hanson
    Chief Examiner, Market Conduct Exams

    (651) 539-1641

    paul.hanson@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Fees

    Jenn Gagner
    Applications Coordinator

    (651) 539-1695

    jenn.gagner@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Financial Analysis

    Barb Carey
    Audit Director, Analysis

    (651) 539-1757

    barbara.carey@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Government Relations

    Jon Kelly
    Director of Government Affairs

    (651) 539-1440

    jon.kelly@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Information Systems

    Gabriel Pereira
    Insurance Information Systems Coordinator

    (651) 539-1693

    gabriel.pereira@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    InsurTech

    Grace Arnold
    Commissioner

    (651) 539-1441

    grace.arnold@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Legal

    Sara Payne
    General Counsel

    (651) 539-1459

    sara.payne@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Media Relations/Public Information

    Mo Schriner
    Communications Director

    (651) 539-1463

    mo.schriner@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Policy and Form Filing - Life/Accident/Health

    Tammy Lohmann
    Director, Insurance Product Filings

    (651) 539-1731

    tammy.lohmann@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Policy and Form Filing - Property & Casualty: Commercial and Personal Lines

    Tammy Lohmann
    Director, Insurance Product Filings

    (651) 539-1731

    tammy.lohmann@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Policy and Form Filing - Workers' Compensation

    Tammy Lohmann
    Director, Insurance Product Filings

    (651) 539-1731

    tammy.lohmann@state.mn.us

  • Minnesota

    Premium Tax

    Jacob Sisterman
    Lead Auditor

    (651) 556-4917

    jacob.sisterman@state.mn.us

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.