Skip to main content
Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (MHPAEA) (B) Working Group

2021 Membership

2021 Adopted Charges

The MHPAEA (B) Working Group will:

  1. Monitor, report and analyze developments related to the federal Paul Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 (MHPAEA), and make recommendations regarding NAIC strategy and policy with respect to those developments.
  2. Monitor, facilitate and coordinate best practices with the states, the DOL and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) related to the MHPAEA.
  3. Monitor, facilitate and coordinate with the states and the DOL regarding compliance and enforcement efforts regarding the ACA that relate to MHPAEA.
  4. Provide supplemental resources to support documentation and reporting in the MHPAEA chapter of the NAIC Market Regulation Handbook.
  5. Coordinate with and provide input to Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs (D) Committee groups, as necessary, regarding mental health parity market conduct examinations.
MHPAEA WORKING GROUP

Public Conference Call
Thursday, August 05, 2021
2:00 PM ET, 1:00 PM CT, 12:00 PM MT, 11:00 AM PT
Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

Health care provider perspectives on mental health parity


MHPAEA (B) WG April 21 Meeting

Public Webex Meeting
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
8:00 AM ET, 7:00 AM CT, 6:00 AM MT, 5:00 AM PT
Expected Length of Call: 90 minutes
Webex Link

Hear Comments on Equity and Diversity in the MH/SUD Treatment Context


Related NAIC Publications

Contacts

Media Inquiries
(816) 783-8909
news@naic.org


Joe Touschner
Senior Health Policy Advisor
202-649-4989

Brian R. Webb
Manager, Health Policy & Legislation
202-471-3978

Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.