Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Arkansas

Alan McClain

Commissioner

Secretary, Southeast Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

On April 3, 2020, Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed Alan McClain as Arkansas Insurance Commissioner. McClain began his career in state government in 1992 with the Arkansas Insurance Department after working with Sedgwick Insurance Group. He worked for the Arkansas Workers' Compensation Commission for 13 years and was the CEO of that Commission for almost nine years.

Most recently, McClain served as Commissioner of the Arkansas Rehabilitation Services (ARS). In this role, which he assumed in 2015, he administered the day-to-day operations of ARS, which administers the Federal Vocational Rehabilitation Act.

McClain has also served on the Arkansas Workforce Development Board and the Governor's Council on Developmental Disabilities. He is a past president of the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards & Commissions and the Council of State Administrators of Vocational Rehabilitation.

He holds an undergraduate degree from Hendrix College and a master's in Public Administration from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Office Information
Main

Arkansas Department of Commerce Arkansas Insurance Department
1 Commerce Way
Bldg 4
Little Rock, AR 72202-2087
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Arkansas

    Randy Robinson
    Director, Risk Management

    (501) 371-2690

    randy.robinson@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Tasha Pankey
    Manager, Human Resources

    (501) 371-2815

    tasha.pankey@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Letty Hardee
    Deputy Commissioner, Information Services

    (501) 371-2664

    letty.hardee@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Paul "Blue" Keller
    Director, Criminal Investigation Division

    (501) 371-2790

    paul.keller@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Nathan Culp
    Director, Public Employee Claims

    (501) 371-2708

    nathan.culp@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Agent Licensing

    Peggy Dunlap
    Insurance Licensing Manager, Agent Licensing

    (501) 371-2760

    peggy.dunlap@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Annual Statements

    Mel Anderson
    Deputy Commissioner Financial Regulation, Finance

    (501) 371-2665

    mel.anderson@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Company Licensing

    Mel Anderson
    Deputy Commissioner Financial Regulation, Finance

    (501) 371-2665

    mel.anderson@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Consumer Complaints and Inquires

    Lindsay Harp
    Manager, Consumer Services

    (501) 371-2640

    insurance.consumers@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Consumer Counseling Program for Seniors

    Carroll Astin
    Manager, SHIIP (Senior Health Insurance Information Program)

    (501) 371-2785

    carroll.astin@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Department Counsel

    Booth Rand
    Legal

    (501) 371-2820

    booth.rand@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Examinations - Agent

    Peggy Dunlap
    Insurance Licensing Manager, Agent Licensing

    (501) 371-2760

    peggy.dunlap@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Examinations - Financial/Market Conduct

    Mel Anderson
    Deputy Commissioner Financial Regulation, Finance

    (501) 371-2665

    mel.anderson@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Guaranty Funds

    Michael Surguine
    Deputy Receiver, Liquidation Division

    (501) 371-2776

    michael.surguine@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Health Insurance Marketplace

    Chantel Allbritton
    Regulatory Health Link

    (501) 371-2755

    chantel.allbritton@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    InsurTech

    Russ Galbraith
    Chief Deputy Commissioner

    (501) 371-2620

    russ.galbraith@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Life & Health and Property & Casualty Insurance

    Jimmy Harris
    Manager, Compliance (Life & Health and Property & Casualty)

    (501) 671-1621

    Jimmy.Harris@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Market Conduct

    Crystal Phelps
    Market Analysis

    (501) 371-2841

    crystal.phelps@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Media Relations/Public Information

    Vacant
    Communications Director

  • Arkansas

    Policy and Form Filing - Life & Health and Property & Casualty

    Jimmy Harris
    Manager, Compliance (Life & Health and Property & Casualty)

    (501) 671-1621

    Jimmy.Harris@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Premium Tax

    Mary Davis
    Assistant Deputy Commissioner, Accounting

    (501) 682-7678

    Mary.Davis@arkansas.gov

  • Arkansas

    Statistical Reporting

    Jimmy Harris
    Manager, Compliance (Life & Health and Property & Casualty)

    (501) 671-1621

    Jimmy.Harris@arkansas.gov

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.