Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Colorado

Michael Conway

Commissioner

Chair, Western Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

Michael Conway was appointed Commissioner of the Colorado Division of Insurance (DOI) by Governor Jared Polis on Dec. 21, 2018, and confirmed by the State Senate on Jan. 22, 2019. Prior to this, he was appointed Interim Commissioner of the DOI by Governor John Hickenlooper in January 2018.

As Commissioner, Conway serves as the chief executive of the DOI and oversees the regulation of Colorado's insurance industry. His role brings together consumers, the insurance industry and other stakeholders to create an inclusive, firm and fair regulatory approach to all lines of insurance such as auto, health, homeowners, life, property and casualty, title and workers' compensation.

Conway served as the DOI Deputy Commissioner for Consumer and Compliance Services since March 2016. He was instrumental in developing and guiding the DOI's strategies regarding health insurance during what was a tumultuous time for that industry. He advised the previous Commissioner and the Governor's staff regarding the possible implications of federal changes to the regulation of health insurance in Colorado. His duties also entailed appearing before state legislative committees to advocate for the DOI's positions regarding insurance and its regulation. He cultivated relationships with consumer groups and insurance industry to create a regulatory environment that helped Colorado consumers but was a fair, level playing field for the industry. He also worked within the DOI to establish objectives that provided for better protection of insurance consumers.

From 2010 to 2016, Conway was an assistant Attorney General for the Colorado State Attorney General's Office, where he represented the DOI in all facets of regulation of the insurance industry including mergers and acquisitions of insurance companies, insurer rehabilitation/liquidation, and producer and company licensure litigation. While in the Attorney General's Office, he worked with the Colorado Attorney General Pro Bono Family Law Clinic, advising clients on matters of divorce and child custody. He also worked as an attorney for Colorado Legal Services, advocating for indigent clients regarding housing rights, homelessness prevention, evictions and subsidized housing.

With the exception of three years spent in Miami for law school, Conway has called Colorado home for nearly 20 years since moving to attend the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Office Information
Main

Department of Regulatory Agencies Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway
Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Colorado

    Kate Harris
    Chief Deputy Commissioner

    (303) 894-2429

    kate.harris@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Debra Judy
    Deputy—Legislative & Regulatory Affairs

    (303) 894-2066

    debra.judy@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Cody Goodrich
    Executive Assistant

    (303) 894-7425

    cody.goodrich@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Rolf Kaumann
    Chief Deputy—Finance

    (303) 894-7532

    rolf.kaumann@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Kyla Hoskins
    Deputy—Affordability Programs

    (303) 894-7416

    Kyla.hoskins@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Jason Lapham
    Deputy, Property/Casualty

    303-869-3412

    Jason.lapham@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Accident & Health Insurance

    Matt Mortier
    Director, Life & Health Consumer Services

    (303) 894-7581

    matt.mortier@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Actuary - Life & Health (All ACA)

    Susan Stieg
    Actuary

    (303) 894-2190

    susan.stieg@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Actuary - Life & Health (All Non-ACA Lines)

    Sean Brady
    Actuary

    (303) 894-7484

    sean.brady@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Actuary - Property & Casualty

    Mitchell Bronson
    Statistical Analyst

    (303) 894-2192

    mitchell.bronson@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Annual Statements

    Keith Warburton
    Director, Financial Services

    (303) 894-7537

    keith.warburton@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Chief Actuary

    Eric Unger
    Chief Actuary

    (303) 894-7492

    eric.unger@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Company Licensing

    Cindy Hathaway
    Director, Corporate Affairs

    (303) 894-7544

    cindy.hathaway@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Consumer Complaints - Life & Health

    Matt Mortier
    Director, Life & Health Consumer Services

    (303) 894-7581

    matt.mortier@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Consumer Complaints - Property & Casualty

    Bobbie Baca
    Director, Property & Casualty Consumer Services

    (303) 894-7783

    bobbie.baca@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Consumer Counseling Program for Seniors

    Brandon Davis
    Director, SHIP/SMP Program

    (303) 894-7552

    brandon.d.davis@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Department Counsel

    Karl Kaesemeyer
    First Attorney General

    (303) 866-6000

    karl.kaesemeyer@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Deposits - Premium Taxes

    Cindy Hathaway
    Director, Corporate Affairs

    (303) 894-7544

    cindy.hathaway@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Examinations - Financial

    Carol Matthews
    Chief Financial Examiner

    (303) 894-2236

    carol.matthews@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Examinations - Producer

    Pearson VUE

    (800) 275-8247

  • Colorado

    Fees - Company

    Cindy Hathaway
    Director, Corporate Affairs

    (303) 894-7544

    cindy.hathaway@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    InsurTech

    Bobbie Baca
    Director, Property & Casualty Consumer Services

    (303) 894-7783

    bobbie.baca@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Investigations

    Steven Giampaolo
    Director, Producer Licensing and Enforcement

    (303) 894-2241

    steven.giampaolo@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Market Regulation

    Tracy Garceau
    Director, Market Regulation

    (303) 894-7803

    tracy.garceau@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Media Contact

    Vincent Plymell
    Assistant Commissioner / Communications

    (303) 894-2261

    vincent.plymell@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Premium Tax

    Cindy Hathaway
    Director, Corporate Affairs

    (303) 894-7544

    cindy.hathaway@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Producer Continuing Education

    Pearson VUE

    (800) 275-8247

  • Colorado

    Producer Licensing

    Steven Giampaolo
    Director, Producer Licensing and Enforcement

    (303) 894-2241

    steven.giampaolo@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Property & Casualty Insurance

    Bobbie Baca
    Director, Property & Casualty Consumer Services

    (303) 894-7783

    bobbie.baca@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Rate, Policy & Form Filing - Life & Health

    Sydney Sloan
    Director, Life & Health Rates & Forms

    (303) 894-7540

    sydney.sloan@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Rate, Policy & Form Filing - Property & Casualty

    David Martinez
    Director, Property, Casualty & Title Rates & Forms

    (303) 894-2262

    davidj.martinez@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Service of Process

    Christine Gonzales-Ferrer
    Compliance Assistant

    (303) 894-2157

    christine.gonzales-ferrer@state.co.us

  • Colorado

    Statistical Reporting

    Kelly Schultz
    Senior Market Analyst

    (303) 894-7481

    kelly.schultz@state.co.us

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.