Skip to main content

Insurance Departments

Find contact information for insurance departments and local insurance agents, or file a complaint.

Texas

Cassie Brown

Commissioner

Secretary, Western Zone

Visit Website Explore Careers Directory

Cassie Brown was appointed to serve as Texas insurance commissioner by Governor Greg Abbott in September 2021. She is the chief executive of the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), overseeing the regulation of the second largest insurance market in the nation and the seventh largest in the world. The agency regulates approximately 2,800 companies and more than 700,000 agents and adjusters.

Brown previously served as commissioner of the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC), having been appointed to the role by Governor Abbott in 2018 and reappointed in 2019 and 2021. Under her leadership, DWC cut customer service hotline hold times to less than 30 seconds, made it easier for system participants to share documents electronically and more securely, and continued to reduce medical costs and increase the number of injured employees returning to work.

Brown has more than 20 years of public service experience and serves on the Executive Women in Texas Government President’s Advisory Committee. She was TDI’s deputy commissioner for Regulatory Policy where she led the regulation of the forms, rates, and products sold in the Texas insurance market; oversaw the residual markets; assured the adequacy of insurers’ loss control programs; and provided inspections and compliance activities related to the state’s windstorm market.

Earlier in her career, Brown served as a key advisor to Governor Rick Perry on policy and budget issues including insurance, health regulatory, and workers’ compensation. She also served in the administration of Governor George W. Bush.

Brown received a Bachelor of Arts in political science from St. Edward’s University and attended the Governor’s Executive Development Program at The University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs.

Office Information
Street Address

1601 Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701
United States

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12030
Austin, TX 78711-2030
United States

Primary Phone Number:

Primary Fax Number:

  • Department

    Category

    Contact

    Phone

    Email

  • Texas

    Administrative Operations

    Melissa Burkhart
    Deputy Commissioner, Administrative Operations

    (512) 676-6609

    melissa.burkhart@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Administrative Operations

    Amy Maddox
    Chief Financial Officer

    (512) 676-6193

    amy.maddox@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Agent Testing

    Pearson VUE
    Exam Contractor

    (888) 754-7667

  • Texas

    Annual Statement Copies

    Annual Statement Room

    (512) 676-6885

  • Texas

    Communications

    Jennifer Tisdale
    Communications Director

    (512) 676-6022

    jennifer.tisdale@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Complaints Resolution

    General Information, Life, Accident, & Health, Property & Casualty

    (800) 252-3439

  • Texas

    Complaints Resolution

    Cindy Wright
    Consumer Protection, Director

    (512) 676-6258

    Cindy.Wright@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Customer Operations

    Randall Evans
    Deputy Commissioner, Customer Operations

    (512) 676-6520

    Randall.Evans@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Deposits (Statutory)

    Betty Betts
    Compliance Analyst

    (512) 676-6376

    betty.betts@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Enforcement

    Mandy Meesey
    Associate Commissioner

    (512) 676-6348

    Mandy.Meesey@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Enforcement

    Leah Gillum
    Deputy Commissioner, Fraud and Enforcement

    (512) 676-6357

    Leah.Gillum@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Financial Regulation Division

    Andy Shuttleworth
    Examinations, Associate Commissioner

    (512) 676-6835

    Andy.Shuttleworth@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Financial Regulation Division

    Shawn Frederick
    Examinations, Chief Examiner - Financial

    (512) 676-6832

    Shawn.Frederick@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Financial Regulation Division

    Matthew Tarpley
    Examinations, Chief Examiner - Market Conduct

    (512) 676-6829

    Matthew.Tarpley@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Financial Regulation Division

    Amy Garcia
    Financial Analysis, Associate Commissioner/Chief Analyst

    (512) 676-6446

    Amy.Garcia@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Financial Regulation Division

    Vane Hugo
    Supervisory Interventions, Director

    (512) 676-6418

    vane.hugo@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Financial Regulation Division

    Jamie Walker
    Deputy Commissioner, Financial Regulation

    (512) 676-6367

    Jamie.Walker@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    General Counsel

    Allison Eberhart
    Deputy General Counsel

    (512) 676-6544

    Allison.Eberhart@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    General Counsel

    Carole Cearley
    Legal, Policy Development Counsel, Director

    (512) 676-6583

    Carole.Cearley@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    General Counsel

    Margaret Jonon
    Legal, Financial Counsel, Director

    (512) 676-6565

    Margaret.Jonon@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    General Counsel

    Jessica Barta
    General Counsel

    (512) 676-6571

    jessica.barta@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Government Relations

    Dan Paschal
    Chief Deputy Commissioner

    (512) 676-6022

    dan.paschal@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Government Relations

    Kenisha Schuster
    Associate Commissioner, Government Relations

    (512) 676-6958

    Kenisha.Schuster@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Human Resources

    Cynthia Olivier
    Director

    (512) 676-6101

    Cynthia.Olivier@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Information Technology Services (Data Processing)

    Amy Lugo
    Director

    (512) 676-6031

    Amy.Lugo@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Insurance Fraud

    Chris Davis
    Associate Commissioner

    (512) 676-6295

    Christopher.Davis@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    InsurTech

    Rachel Cloyd
    Litigation Director

    512-676-6349

    rachel.cloyd@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Life & Health Division

    Mindy Carroll
    Business Intelligence Office, Director

    (512) 676-6643

    Mindy.Carroll@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Life & Health Division

    Colleen Anderson
    Managed Care Quality Assurance Office, Director

    (512) 676-6413

    Colleen.Anderson@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Life & Health Division

    Rachel Bowden
    Regulatory Initiatives Office, Director

    (512) 676-6616

    Rachel.Bowden@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Life & Health Division

    Debra Diaz-Lara
    Deputy Commissioner, Life & Health

    (512) 676-6613

    Debra.Diaz-Lara@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    NAIC Liaison

    Dan Paschal
    Chief Deputy Commissioner

    (512) 676-6022

    dan.paschal@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Premium Tax (Collected by the Comptroller's Office)

    Karen Snyder
    Comptroller of Public Accounts

    (512) 463-4074

  • Texas

    Property & Casualty Division

    J'ne Byckovski
    Property & Casualty Actuarial, Director/Chief Actuary

    (512) 676-6694

    J'ne.Byckovski@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Property & Casualty Division

    Marianne Baker
    Property & Casualty Lines, Director

    (512) 676-6714

    Marianne.Baker@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    Property & Casualty Division

    Mark Worman
    Deputy Commissioner, Property & Casualty

    (512) 676-6671

    Mark.Worman@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    SERFF

    Sharalyn Taylor
    SERFF Project Manager

    (512) 676-6738

    Sharalyn.Taylor@tdi.texas.gov

  • Texas

    State Fire Marshal

    Debra Knight
    State Fire Marshal

    (512) 676-6800

    Fire.Marshal@tdi.texas.gov

Find an Insurance Agent

Select a state or jurisdiction to search for an insurance agent.

Select State

File a Complaint

Having a problem with an insurance company or agent? Find your state insurance department and file a complaint.

Select State

InsurTech, Innovation & Technology Contacts

Find state contacts ready to introduce you to the regulatory process.