Antifraud (D) Task Force

2020 Membership

2020 Charges

The mission of the Antifraud (D) Task Force is to serve the public interest by assisting the state insurance supervisory officials, individually and collectively, through the detection, monitoring and appropriate referral for investigation of insurance crime, both by and against consumers. The Task Force will assist the insurance regulatory community by conducting the following activities: maintain and improve electronic databases regarding fraudulent insurance activities; disseminate the results of research and analysis of insurance fraud trends, as well as case-specific analysis, to the insurance regulatory community; and provide a liaison function between insurance regulators, law enforcement (federal, state, local and international) and other specific antifraud organizations. The Task Force also will serve as a liaison with the NAIC Information Technology Group (ITG) and other NAIC committees, task forces and/or working groups to develop technological solutions for data collection and information-sharing. The Task Force will monitor all aspects of antifraud activities by its working groups on the following charges.

Ongoing Support of NAIC Programs, Products or Services

  1. The Antifraud (D) Task Force will:
    1. Work with NAIC committees, task forces and working groups (e.g., Title Insurance (C) Task Force, etc.) to review issues and concerns related to fraud activities and schemes related to insurance fraud.
    2. Coordinate efforts to address national concerns related to agent fraud and activities of unauthorized agents related to insurance sales.
    3. Coordinate the enforcement and investigation efforts of state and federal securities regulators with state insurance fraud bureaus.
    4. Coordinate with state, federal and international law enforcement agencies in addressing antifraud issues relating to the insurance industry.
    5. Review and provide comments to the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) on its Insurance Core Principles (ICPs) related to insurance fraud.
    6. Coordinate activities and information from national antifraud organizations and provide information to state insurance fraud bureaus.
    7. Coordinate activities and information with state and federal fraud divisions to determine guidelines that will assist with reciprocal involvement concerning antifraud issues resulting from natural disasters and catastrophes.
    8. Coordinate efforts with the insurance industry to address antifraud issues and concerns.
    9. Evaluate and recommend methods to track national fraud trends.
  1. The Antifraud Education Enhancement (D) Working Group will:
    1. Develop seminars, trainings and webinars regarding insurance fraud. Provide three webinars by the 2020 Fall National Meeting.
  1. The Antifraud Technology (D) Working Group will:
    1. Review and provide recommendations for the development of an Antifraud Plan Repository to be used by insurers to create and store an electronic fraud plan for distribution among the states/jurisdictions.
    2. Evaluate sources of antifraud data and propose methods for enhancing the utilization and exchange of information among insurance regulators, fraud investigative divisions, law enforcement officials, insurers and antifraud organizations. Complete by the 2020 Fall National Meeting.
Antifraud (D) Task Force Conference Call

Public Conference Call
Monday, October 26, 2020
2:00 PM ET, 1:00 PM CT, 12:00 PM MT, 11:00 AM PT
Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

The purpose of the call will be to discuss and consider the draft Task Force 2021 Charges for adoption.

WebEx Call Information:

Meeting number (access code): 133 381 5994

Meeting password: fXsECrmj425


Join from a mobile device (attendees only) 

Phone Number: 1-415-655-0003 

Meeting Number: 133 381 5994  

Join by phone 

+1-415-655-0003 US Toll 


Education & Training Events

Basic Fraud Investigations 
Available Year-Round

More Information

Related NAIC Publications


Media Inquiries
(816) 783-8909

Greg Welker
Antifraud and Producer Licensing Program Manager

Lois Alexander
Market Regulation Manager

Tim Mullen
Director Market Regulation

Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.