Compiling...

Catastrophe Insurance (C) Working Group

2021 Membership

2021 Adopted Charges

The Catastrophe Insurance (C) Working Group will:

  1. Monitor and recommend measures to improve the availability and affordability of insurance and reinsurance related to catastrophe perils for personal and commercial lines.
  2. Evaluate potential state, regional and national programs to increase capacity for insurance and reinsurance related to catastrophe perils.
  3. Monitor and assess proposals that address disaster insurance issues at the federal and state levels. Assess concentration-of-risk issues and whether a regulatory solution is needed.
  4. Provide a forum for discussing issues and recommending solutions related to insuring for catastrophe risk, including terrorism, war, and natural disasters.
  5. Provide a forum for discussing various issues related to catastrophe modeling, and monitor issues that will result in changes to the Catastrophe Computer Modeling Handbook.
  6. Investigate and recommend ways the NAIC can assist states in responding to disasters, while building a central repository of timely resources for state insurance regulators to better prepare for disasters.
  7. Continue to monitor the growth of the private flood insurance market and assess the actions taken by individual states to facilitate growth. Update the Considerations for Private Flood Insurance appendix to include new ways states are growing the private flood insurance market.
  8. Study, in coordination with other NAIC task forces and working groups, earthquake matters of concern to state insurance regulators. Consider various innovative earthquake insurance coverage options aimed at improving take-up rates.
Cat Ins WG Call 210310

Public Webex Meeting
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
11:30 AM ET, 10:30 AM CT, 9:30 AM MT, 8:30 AM PT Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

Meeting in lieu of Spring National Meeting to hear from states affected by recent major catastrophic events, as well as hear a brief presentation from Q-risq Analytics.


Cat Ins WG NM Call 201117

Public Webex Meeting
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
3:30 PM ET, 2:30 PM CT, 1:30 PM MT, 12:30 PM PT Expected Length of Call: 1 hr
Webex Link

Conference call in lieu of National Meeting to: hear a federal update, discuss hurricane response during this hurricane season, and discuss FEMA regional meetings held in 2020.


Related NAIC Publications

Contacts

Media Inquiries
(816) 783-8909
news@naic.org


Sara Robben
Statistical Advisor
Phone: (816) 783-8230

Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.