Skip to main content
Title Insurance (C) Task Force

2023 Membership


The mission of the Title Insurance (C) Task Force is to study issues related to title insurers and title insurance producers.

2023 Adopted Charges

The Title Insurance (C) Task Force will:

  1. Discuss and/or monitor issues and developments affecting the title insurance industry, and provide support and expertise to other NAIC committees, task forces and/or working groups, or outside entities, as appropriate. 
  2. Review and assist various regulatory bodies in combating fraudulent and/or unfair real estate settlement activities. Such efforts could include working with the Antifraud (D) Task Force and other NAIC committees, task forces and/or working groups to combat mortgage fraud and mitigating title agent defalcations through the promotion of closing protection letters (CPLs) and other remedies. 
  3. Consult with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and other agencies responsible for information, education, and disclosure for mortgage lending, closing services, and settlement services about the role of title insurance in the real estate transaction process. 
  4. Update the 2019 Survey of State Insurance Laws Regarding Title Data and Title Matters
  5. Review Section 15C of the Title Insurers Model Act (#628) to determine if a request should be made to remove the requirement for on-site review of underwriting and claims practices.  
  6. Obtain information on consumer complaints submitted to states regarding title insurance to determine if updates are needed to insurance regulatory best practices or standards. 

NAIC Support Staff: Anne Obersteadt

Title Insurance (C) Task Force

Title Insurance (C) Task Force
Thursday, March 23, 2023
3:45 PM - 5:00 PM ET

Ballroom B - Main Concourse Level - KY  Convention Center

Related NAIC Publications


Media Inquiries
(816) 783-8909

Anne Obersteadt
Regulatory Research Specialist

Aaron Brandenburg
Assistant Director - P&C Regulatory Services

Please see the current Committee List for a complete list of committee members.